It's not because I'm an early riser, didn't get to sleep last night in Normal entries

  • Feb. 1, 2018, 6:48 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

The damn moon hid behind the clouds on the thirty-first, now, an hour after waking up for the last time, it’s bright as a Rhode scholar on meth. I didn’t mean to foreshadow my demise, I will probably wake up again someday, I just meant the last time I woke up today.

Since I started smoking again and subsequently went back to my pipe collection with the intent of less harmful smoking, I’m back to crazy collector mode. My camera sucks and phucking photobucket ate my pictures and now wants money. Cheap bastard that I am I went with a free hosting site; Imjur or -gur, I guess imgur makes more sense, and either it sucks or I missed the learning curve somehow, embedding seems not to work.

I’m collecting things that are objectively works of art. Not the weird ass things that look impossible to smoke, but beautiful grains and sensual curves that ease into your hand and balance in your mouth. Sound familiar? Good, I shouldn’t have to point out every connection. No, I don’t desperately need to get laid, but I’m not turning down any offers either.

The whole Larry Nassar thing is taking up a lot of space in the local news; MSU gymnastic doctor accused (and tried and convicted) of multiple charges of sexual misconduct. Nationally everybody with a dick seems to be getting accused too, sans trial or conviction anywhere but in public opinion. Not minimizing are saying that any of those guys nationally didn’t do it, just saying witch trial or no, there should be some kind of trial. We don’t have a great justice system, but, in criminal cases, it does hinge on innocent until proven guilty and that’s not a bad thing. A jury of a few million readers and watchers of news is a lot easier to convince than twelve peers. And it works both ways, if guilty there should be punishment, punishment by media isn’t a justice system is mob rule.

Oh, and the recidivism rate for sex offenders is 97 %, so, if they are guilty get them the fuck off my street, but they need be tried by someone other than them what think Fox or MSNBC are the new gospel.

Um, that’s why I’m talking about the smooth, graceful curves of pipes. Not to damn long ago equality meant be treated the same, it meant parity. Millennials have discovered civil rights and want to fight old battles but they haven’t read Thoreau and though they saw the movie Gandhi he had something more to do with religion, maybe, than politics. Sorry, I just mean the civil part got dropped from civil disobedience. And on the older front the civil got dropped from civil discourse. Um, and the intelligence from intelligent civil discourse.

I’m not pointing fingers exactly, but young and old are pretty much everyone of every color, race, creed. Heh, some kid called me middle age, when I pointed out that I’d have to live to 114 to be middle age they shot some all caps letters that were brought to me by the letters F and S.
What I was trying to get at with the whole pipe thing that went sideways quickly, was that I’m not adding classic black sandblast English billiards so much as Danish free-hands and Russian made and American made Danish styles. Oh, and a few Italian morta (petrified bog oak) and Polish morta. I know, Polish morta sounds like the set-up for a joke. A lot of cheap factory-made pipes are coming out of Poland these days. Why? I haven’t a clue. Where do they get briar or morta? I have even less clues. Briar is kind of a parasitic cancer that grows on a very specific tree in the Mediterranean and morta needs to be dredged out of a swamp. These two things stand heat very well. A pipe is kind of a portable fire place. There’s a reason we don’t build indoor fireplaces out of wood.


Neogy Titwhistle February 01, 2018

Recidivism of offenders. I thought we had discussed this before. Apparently it is below 14%. Here's a good read:

https://www.smart.gov/SOMAPI/sec1/ch5_recidivism.html

And no. It's always been guilty until proven otherwise. And a lot of times still guilty even if proven not.

haredawg drools Neogy Titwhistle ⋅ February 02, 2018

Yeah, among the rather dense prose is a huge number of caveats. It's in a lot of peoples best interest to keep recidivism numbers low, except sherrifs around election time. I can believe recidivism has dropped among sex offenders, what I don't believe, and whats even scarier, is that 86 percent of incarcerated sex offenders are new.

Neogy Titwhistle haredawg drools ⋅ February 02, 2018

True. A sad case in Springfield was a freak with no criminal record snatched a 10 year old off the street and hours later killed her. He was a school employee. When the amber alert went out quite a few law enforcement were spinning their wheels tracking down known offenders, trying to get lucky.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.