30w3d in Baby Stuff, Part 3

  • Jan. 31, 2018, 8 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

What a day. Ended up in labor and delivery again.

I called yesterday because something felt… off. I’d been feeling that way for a few days but I chalked it up to anxiety. I noticed at work that she hadn’t really moved all day, even after I ate lunch, and she’s normally quite active. I called the nurse line and explained what was going on and she said I should come in. I sort of felt like a dolt. I figured they’d say everything was normal.
They did a biophysical profile and everything looked good… Except my amniotic fluid level. It was pretty low for my gestational age (5 cm, which is the very low end of normal). So she sent my ultrasound to my doctor who had already left for the day and they would call me.

I got to work today and got a call saying to go to labor and delivery to make sure I didn’t have a leak. I wanted to wait until after work but the nurse said I should go right away, so I did. The good news is I’m not leaking fluid! They also did an ultrasound and my fluid level was still low but not dire, and Maeve looked good and healthy. They checked her kidneys and everything. So I’m glad for that. I can’t go back to work this week and I have to have another ultrasound on Monday. I’m not sure what to expect from here on out, but probably just more monitoring to make sure my AFI doesn’t go below five.

All I can do is hope my levels improve a lot and don’t dip, and that she makes it to full term. I’m sure she will but we shall see.


Last updated March 16, 2018


Small Town Girl January 31, 2018

That sounds scary! Glad she is doing well! Little stink pot! Hope she stay in there!

Mehuh 2.0 February 03, 2018

Oh goodness. Good thing you called to get checked!!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.