The Great Diary War in Everyday life

  • Jan. 26, 2018, 11:36 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I’ve seen the entries today and I felt like getting on my soapbox and shouting nonsense.

A. I’m not taking sides, I find both sites have positive and negative points, but …

B. I’ve never felt the sense of community at Prosebox that everyone says there is. I’ve found it near impossible to make connections with other writers. Maybe that’s just me; maybe it’s because I’m at a much different point in my life than when I came to Open Diary …

C. Yet I’ve had more interaction with a couple posts on OD than I’ve had here in months. More interaction means I’m more likely to return frequently. I don’t know what this says about the people returning to OD, or about me. Maybe I’m an attention whore and just like people noticing my work, even if it’s written for me.

D. I never had a paid OD subscription, so I was not screwed out on the money end. Those who were, I can understand why you’ve been pissed for years.

E. There is a place for both sites, IMO. Sometimes you want prime rib, other times you’d settle for another cut.

F. My rambling is done.


Last updated January 26, 2018


Newzlady January 26, 2018

I had difficulty getting comfortable here, but after finding a few new favorites who write frequently and interact with me, I'm satisfied. I won't go back.

Mystery Newzlady ⋅ January 27, 2018

Agree!

SilentEcho January 27, 2018

I agree its smaller here and makes it feel less community. I didn't pay either, refused to pay to write my feelings down. I wouldn't mind seeing if my old stuff is still hanging around, there's some stuff from 14 years ago that if it's still there I'd like to read it.

Mystery January 27, 2018

I still can't even access the damn site. Like SilentEcho said, I refuse to pay to write my feelings down, but I would like to get in and delete my old journal.

Camdengirl January 27, 2018

Interesting comment about the interaction... I tend to find OD is more dramatic posters whereas PB seems to have the slightly more stable grown up posters- I do think it makes a difference ad to the amount of comments you get.

king of i Camdengirl ⋅ January 27, 2018

That’s an interesting theory. Hadn’t thought of that.

Still Broken January 27, 2018

I, too, have noticed that I feel a serious lack of community here. I can't seem to find anyone I really connect with except for a few OD Refugee friends. And, yes, the diarists here are more grown up but, seriously, I don't want to read about a day in the life of a housewife with 2 kids. I want the inner thoughts, the dark sides, the creative process...and I don't see that here. And it seems as if I kinda fell into that trap as well, although I blame it on all the scientific papers I had to write; kills your creativity. I had a lifetime subscription when OD shut down, so I see no harm in giving it a chance for awhile. The site will speed back up once the mad rush to restore diaries has slowed down. I'm not thrilled with the look and feel so far - PB is waaaay better - but we'll see.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.