An Opportunity to Indulge a Little in Everyday Ramblings

  • Jan. 23, 2018, 8:59 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

This space in the photo makes me slightly crazy. It is a big public space that was created about 50 years ago when they tore down the neighborhood in which I live in the name of Urban Renewal. Those are luxury apartments and a relatively modern building that is utilized by both the City and Portland State University.

The big step thing in the background is an elaborate fountain that is not on in the winter for obvious reasons. There are a few marginal businesses behind where I was standing to take the shot. A hot pot restaurant, a Pilate’s studio, hair salon, nail place, and a wig store.

The only people I ever see on weekends and after work hours here are people in transition, living on the margins. There is no camping allowed but there are often gatherings of folks on drugs. I stepped over a used hypodermic on one of the stairs a few days ago and today, you may be able to see it, there is an ambulance in the back, most likely for an overdose.

They tore down, yes a run down but vital neighborhood for this. A place where folks had family roots and a web of connections for what I consider to be a haunted desolate place.

I talked to a woman that lives in one of those apartments last year that has a completely different take. She sees it as convenient and close in. So it could just be that this place strikes a melancholy chord in me.

Today I took this picture after work as I was walking back from finally getting my passport photos for the renewal I need to send in for. It is so interesting to reflect on where I was 10 years ago when I had my passport renewed last time. I looked so much younger at 53!

I was just starting this job and getting to know the neighborhood but hadn’t moved here yet.

Mr. Island, Sammy, Stella, my oldest sister and Mr. Finch were all alive.

All that in a 10-year chunk.

Today is the first day in a few weeks that I feel like I am making some headway in all the stuff one needs to do to function here in the modern world of the future. Besides my passport photos I renewed my yoga liability insurance and an allied benefit package with that.

Now I need to start on my tax prep. My goal is to get my organizer filled out by Valentine’s Day. Tomorrow Kes and the cats and I are going to the vet for annual shots and well kitty check ups. I am taking the rest of the day off so we can have a leisurely lunch and I can take my time getting to my evening class.

But tonight I am home and dry and hanging out with a world of things to read and listen to and watch and I intend to indulge.

The audio book of Lincoln in the Bardo is pretty amazing.


Lyn January 23, 2018

Progress is not always a good thing.

Deleted user January 23, 2018

It definitely looks bleak in Winter.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.