f(x)=x+2 in A small but passable life.

  • Jan. 23, 2018, 12:01 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I’ve been sitting right here since I scribbled the last entry.

I watched a TEDx talk by some guy who said that the grade one makes in high school algebra class is directly correlated to future earnings. Umm, okay, makes sense for me as I never took high school algebra and been as nearly broke as can be for my entire life.

He put a thing on the screen and said that, basically, that if you didn’t know what it was that you were dumb as a box of rocks and wouldn’t amount to jack shit in this life:

f(x)=x+2

I googled it and youtubed it. Yeah. First of all it is not a problem, it is a function. It is dots on a graph thingy with a line drawn through it. And second of all no one could explain a use or reason for it.

After three days of researching this and getting nowhere I said fuck it. No point to the thing.

I asked Daughter last night if she knew the deal. She’s taken calculus and all that goes before it so I thought she’d have an insight. She said that it could be used in chemistry. Thanks babe, that doesn’t explain it to me. Sorry. I just don’t get it.

Anyway, I also haven’t made any progress on this living life with a purpose thing either. I do give myself points for thinking about it though.

The high point of my day is after the hours have passed and I can lie down, turn out the light, pull my blankets up and close my eyes and have nothing to do but sleep for the next eight hours.

It may be warm enough by Thursday afternoon to return to the pool for a lay-about.


Last updated January 23, 2018


Emily January 23, 2018

You can use functions to predict future behavior. Let's say I add $500 to my savings account each month. You could write an equation that is my total savings as a function of time. Savings(month) = 500*month. Where month would be month 0, month 1, etc. This gives me an easy way to figure out what my savings will be in month 36. Another example... in physics we use functions all the time to predict the motion of an object. If I throw a ball, I can write an equation of the ball's position as a function of time. In other words, when I plug a time into the function, the function will tell me where the ball is in its trajectory.

Hope that helps :)

Deleted user January 23, 2018

Wow, I had no idea but it makes sense!

Gilraent January 25, 2018

Interesting!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.