28w6d in Baby Stuff, Part 3

  • Jan. 20, 2018, 2:12 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

I ended up in the hospital last night for the stomach flu.
I caught the stomach flu that had been going around my family. Well, I managed to not catch the first one. But the second stomach flu… yep. I was hoping I avoided it, but obviously since I went back to work and started class last week, it was my time. I had to miss the first day of one of my classes but I work with the professor so it’s not a big deal.

Anyway, I started throwing up around 4:30, and continued doing so for every 15 to 20 minutes. I did get a reprieve for awhile. When I tried to drink water, I threw it up. When I tried to drink watered-down Gatorade, I threw it up. I started to have some dehydration symptoms, so off to the hospital I went. They gave me fluids and I felt better, aside from the stomach pain and feeling like I was going to throw up if any liquid or food went near my stomach.

Maeve was super active the whole time I was sick and at the hospital, so I knew she was okay. She bopped the monitors, as babies around this gestational age tend to do! Blood pressure and everything was perfect, no contractions, etc.

I went home and managed to get some sleep. I woke up often feeling horrible but by midday today, I’m feeling a lot better. I have managed to keep water down, and I drank some Coke to avoid a caffeine headache. I’m now snacking on saltines. I think I’ll be able to keep them down.

Anyway, I absolutely do not recommend the stomach flu during pregnancy.
(:


Mehuh 2.0 January 20, 2018

I will take that recommendation next time I am pregnant - but I am glad that your baby seems to be doing well! And I am glad you are feeling better!

Fawkes Gal January 20, 2018

You poor thing. I'm glad you're feeling better!

TrippyNina January 20, 2018

Oh, man. I'm so sorry! I hope your feeling better soon!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.