SUCCESS AT LAST in Postcards 4

  • Jan. 17, 2018, 10 a.m.
  • |
  • Public


Photo: Dairy Goodness.

I’ve been trying to make a decent baked apple for eons. Once long ago, I could cook anything with great verve and produce a pretty good dish at the end. I prided myself on my cooking. Not baked apples though. I’ve never succeeded in making an edible baked apple.

I have more cookbooks than Carter has Little Liver Pills. I’ve tried to make baked apples from all of them. I’ve failed every time.

Short on time, I thought why couldn’t I try to bake an apple in the microwave. I looked up a recipe in Google, and, as usual, I followed the directions to the letter. I thought there might be way too much spice. Nope. I thought three and a half minutes would be too little time as our microwave is old. I added another 30 seconds, and I have to tell you…they were a success.

Mouth wateringly marvelous, actually. Unbelievably simple too.

Baked Apples for 2: All Recipes: Nicole M.

2 Apples
2 Tablespoons Brown Sugar
1 Teaspoon Nutmeg
1 Teaspoon Cinnamon
2 Teaspoons Butter

  1. Core the apples, Peel or not, leaving the bottom intact.
  2. In a bowl, mix the brown sugar, cinnamon and nutmeg. Spoon the sugar mixture into the apples and set a teaspoon (or more to your taste) of butter on top of each apple. Place the apples in a deep casserole dish and cover.
  3. Microwave for 3 1/2 to 4 minutes or until tender. Let the apples sit for a couple minutes before serving.
    ……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………….
    • Himself: Really doing well.

    • Me, myself, and I: Finished the back of Bobbies Quilt and created cacophony.

    • Reading: Starting the new Louise Penny.

    • Captain Poolie: Totally drugged out. We visited and found her asleep. Should have left then. Beginning Chemo through the port in her head to her brain stem.

    • Gratitude’s: For everything today.

Zipster January 17, 2018

I am definitely going to try that! Thank you.

Hillbilly Princess January 17, 2018

NorthernSeeker January 18, 2018

Kudos on the baked apple. They are harder than one thinks. I remember doing baked apples with Grade 8s in cooking class...it was a manic panic.

MageB NorthernSeeker ⋅ January 18, 2018

Oh, not fun. This is super easy.

Deleted user January 19, 2018

I have to try these! Thanks !

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.