"COURAGE FOR THREE WORDS" in "RESTLESS: POETICALLY-SPEAKING"

  • Jan. 12, 2018, 9:13 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I need to be brave
to show you these feelings I have
For too long I’ve been imprisoned
by my own creation of silence

I’ve been too scared
Society’s been unfair
They say I should know my place
or they’ll put me in disgrace
A lady should save her face
and always watch out what she says

I hate it
I’m suffocated
Why can’t I too be honest?
Why can’t this be expressed?
I think I’m also entitled
to open up and be straightforward

These have always happened
just because I got way too quiet
painfully shy and frightened
Why do I have to remain such a coward?

Every guy I’ve ever loved has gone away
without hearing what I had to say
Some say it’s life, although not okay
Others still blame me anyway

I think I need your help
so I won’t be too scared
Help me to find my courage
to say those three words out loud
even if I’m still choked up
by my own self-doubt:

“I…love…you…”
How about that?

R.
(Jakarta, 7/1/2018 – 9:15 am)


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.