Wannabe stoner in Adventures in paradise

  • Jan. 12, 2018, 2:10 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Well, I think any chance of management (even if I wanted it) at this job was thrown out the window today at work. I burst into tears about two and a half hours into my shift. Uncontrollable crying, breathing hard, sniffling, sobbing, not making any sense.
My store manager had called my name as I walked past, but I didn’t want him to see I was crying so I ignored him. Other staff called out my name also. Then they kinda of chased me down haha. I stopped in the aisle. I wasn’t going anywhere in particular. My store manager asked what was wrong and I sobbed through tears, “I’m… just emotional.... …so… sick of… being sore!”
My store manager then suggested, “You feel like you’re useless,” as though it was more of a statement than a question, and he was right.
He then said, “What I can do is send you home sick, take today as a sick day to go home and try to feel better, if you like.”
Man, they are trying everything not to submit those work-compo forms!
I was sore, I knew that, but I knew I could still do my work. I just needed to get it together. There’s no way I could serve customers in the state I was. I looked like a crazed mad-man.
My grocery manager suggested I go take a break and that’s exactly what I did. I went to the bathroom and looked in the mirror.
The person looking back at me, didn’t even look like me. I didn’t recognize myself.
I am NOT a pretty crier. When I cry, my blue eyes basically turn red. Bloodshot to the max. I seriously looked like I’d been smoking about 20 joints before starting my shift. Maybe a couple of injections of heroin whilst I was at it. Anyone who looked at me would have immediately thought, “What. A. Junkie!”

I must’ve been in there for about 10 minutes, washing my face, telling myself to get it together. My back is just SO tight. I washed my face a few more times and then went out to the lunch room and sat down. I then Googled the side effects of one of the medications I was on, and two of them stood out - Dizziness (yup!) and Swings Of Mood (LOL).
Well then. At least I had an excuse now.

Anyway, I didn’t go home sick. I got through the shift. I did help one customer shortly after and I could tell by his body language that he was shocked at how I looked.
I only WISH I was stoned, buddy.


Last updated January 12, 2018


Complicated Disaster January 12, 2018

I think you need to be firmer with your employers. You're clearly not fit to be working - as a result of a work accident - and you shouldn't feel pressured to do so.

Swanny January 12, 2018

A side effect of pain killers is feeling emotional.

cazoob January 14, 2018

Definitely put the claim in. God forbid you have any long term problems, you need to ensure you're covered. Didn't your certificate give you more time? Take it! Make sure you heal xx

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.