Ice cream in Stuff

  • Jan. 8, 2018, 11:11 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Megan contacted me on Friday night and asked if my house was warm. It seemed like a weird question. We’ve having very very cold weather right now, so naturally we’re keeping the house warm. But of course we keep it warm all the time. It’s just part of living in a cold place in the winter. So I responded and said yeah, the house is warm.

She replied that she thinks something must be wrong with her furnace because it’s running all the time but she can barely keep her house’s temperature in the high 50’s. Naturally this is a big problem because if her furnace fails completely in this weather all her pipes could freeze and burst and literally cause 10’s of thousands of dollars in needed repairs.

I told her to come to my place to stay warm, but also lectured her on needing to address this problem right away before it gets worse. I felt a bit motherly with her, knowing home ownership is a new thing to her.

So she spent the whole weekend with us. For someone that I practically didn’t speak to up until a few months ago, it’s weird how much she feels like part of the family now. Oddly, sometimes she feels like one of my kids, and sometimes she feels like an adult.

She made a comment to me yesterday about how much she respects the fact that I don’t shave, and that she wishes she could do the same but knows it would probably work against her in her profession. I asked her if having a perfect body really helps her get more clients at the gym, or if it’s intimidating to people.

She laughed and said she wouldn’t know, since she doesn’t have a perfect body.

To which I responded: You have the most perfect body I’ve ever seen.

Usually she’s the one that says things that make her feel awkward, but as soon as those words came out I realized I probably sounded more complimentary that I had intended. I was honestly just speaking the truth. It’s very clear just to look at Megan that maintaining her body at “perfection” is important to her.

When I ate a bowl of ice cream in front of her last night, I could tell she wasn’t even tempted. Eating something like that is so far off her radar that she wouldn’t even think of it.

I’m not sure when her furnace will be fixed. I hope she’s working on it, but I don’t mind having her around.


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.