The first born survey. in Hot town, summery in the city - 2017

  • Jan. 8, 2018, 10:26 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Answer the questions about your FIRST born. The one who made you a mum!

Epidural? Only after she had been born, because my placenta needed to be removed manually. The doctor put a glove on up to his elbow and I didn’t look!

Dad in the room? Yes, he was fabulous.

Induced? No, and I’m very glad because it sounds really rough for mum and baby.

C section? No, although it was close!! I was being wheeled to the operating theatre when the orderlies crashed the trolley into the wall. I felt her shift inside me and she was born while the doctor was prepping to operate and the midwife was telling him to get the fuck away from me 😂😂

Know the gender beforehand? Yes. R and I hadn’t even questioned our knowledge that she was a girl, until we were in Ibiza. We were about to buy a dress for her when we stopped and said, “What if it’s a boy?” So we asked at the scan a week later, learned we were right and went back to Ibiza (I know!! I miss the perks of being a DINKY!) and bought the dress.

Due date? We were originally told 4th December which I said wasn’t allowed as it’s my birthday. The doctor didn’t have a sense of humour and just looked at me… later we were told 22nd December.

Birth date? She was born on the 12th December, neither early nor late but at the right moment for her.

Morning sickness? No. Not at all. In fact, I found that food tasted amazing, like it did in amsterdam (if you know what I’m saying!!!)

Cravings? Flavour, lots and lots of flavour. I ate large amounts of fruit, bowls of huge mixes of fresh fruit.

Weight gained? Not during pregnancy, no more than expected, but during the year afterwards I piled several stone on! Lots of sitting, snuggling and eating waaaay more than the breastfeeding necessitated!

Place of birth? About half a mile away from here in our local hospital. I felt completely safe and relaxed there, knowing the midwives cared and listened to me.

Weight? 5lbs 12oz. She was so tiny, people felt they had the right to comment on her size but she was perfect and, now, is tall compared to her peers.

Baby’s name? Talaia

Age now? 12


thesunnyabyss January 08, 2018

very interesting survey, my answers are soooo different, lol,

have a good day!!!

Deleted user January 08, 2018

I still feel guilt and regret for not sending you cinnamon gum as promised when you were pregnant! :( :(

A couple questions! You mentioned people commenting on her size. If she was tiny, did it bug you that people mentioned she was tiny? I'm curious about that! If so, why?

I'm also curious why you wouldn't want a baby born on your birthday. I imagine it's so that baby can have her own special day. But wouldn't it be great fun to have a birthday the same day as your daughter (or mum)?

I know you won't mind my prying questions. ;) xo

ermentrude Deleted user ⋅ January 08, 2018

The comments about her size were usually negative, what did I do wrong in pregnancy to have such a tiny baby - those kind of questions!! From total strangers!!

As for my birthday - it’s MY birthday!!! No one is allowed to share it 😀😂😉 xx

Deleted user ermentrude ⋅ January 08, 2018

Ok... LOL! Good answers. :)

northern lights ermentrude ⋅ January 08, 2018

I weighed 1lb 10oz - if people thought you did something wrong, I wonder what they thought of my mum?! (I was a triplet and 3 months prem) and you did nothing wrong!!!!!

ermentrude Deleted user ⋅ January 08, 2018

As for the gum, I found some online when I bought some special, Finnish chocolate for a good friend so all guilt assuaged!! X

~Twinkle~ January 08, 2018

:)

Deleted user January 08, 2018

And I remember when she was born and you writing about her as a baby :-)

Deleted user January 08, 2018

No morning sickness, go you.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.