AN OLD TRAIN WRECK in Postcards 4

  • Jan. 5, 2018, 10:07 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

My two helpers plus the stall owner, Barbara, met right on time yesterday morning. Yes, she had sold some books, but there were still over a thousand books to be packed and transported home. No, I didn’t take a camera with me.

It took three loads in Grumpy to get them home. Unloading with G’s help plus one of the girls. At the end, there were still a few books left….plus bookcases, when I called a halt to the endeavor. My two helpers were greyed, the stall owner couldn’t stand to work…only sit. And I felt totally too old and unequal to hauling any more boxes of books to truck and garage. Enough.

I went back one last time to get our refrigerator dolly…it wouldn’t fit in the truck with the boxed books. Barbara was sitting there looking exhausted announcing that everything left was free. I gave her a receipt for her donation, our fulsome thanks, and went home to collapse myself feeling like a train wreck.
……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………….

  • Himself: Still coughing, but vastly better at last.

  • Me, myself, and I: 10 to 12:30 ish. Not volunteering for that again…did I say that? Never doing that again. Never..never. I’m too old.

  • Reading: Louise Penny.

  • Captain Poolie: Not good. She’s in the ER again…her hip pain.

  • Gratitude’s: That G is better and the books boxed. Thankful for the two volunteers: Robin and Annie. We need to take them out to dinner with our thanks.


Deleted user January 05, 2018

That would be a huge job ! I am imagining how much work it would be to box up my own books and then carry them anywhere .

Zipster January 05, 2018

Oh dear. You need to recruit some young people for that kind of endeavor. I hope you are staying quiet and recovering today.

MageB Zipster ⋅ January 05, 2018

Yes, I did, and Yes, I sure am. :)

aunty EM January 05, 2018

Overwhelming....

gattaca January 06, 2018

Good old Grumpy! I'll bet you have Grumpy for another 20 years. :-)

These are the trainwrecks I actually find interesting - not the political ones. ;-)

NorthernSeeker January 07, 2018

That is a lot of lugging and hauling. I'd look at it that I did it once and it's somebody else's turn.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.