Storm day in A Day in the Life of Me

  • Jan. 4, 2018, 9:31 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

So we have a powerful storm hitting here today (https://www.theweathernetwork.com/ca/weather/nova-scotia/halifax).
Shit ton of wind, loads of rain possible snow..
Got woken up at 9am just before D was coming in to wake me with tea, by my boss at job#2 to let me know I could stay home today as she was expecting it to be dead so i gained a day off that i wasn’t expecting. He still had to go to work and is off at 5.

Yesterday I prepped for a storm day, bought some stuffs to munch on in case power is lost, and then last night whipped up some tea biscuits, boiled up some water ( i can’t hack the chlorine taste in city water so i boil it then bottle it), then got my tea pot filled with water to make a hug pot of tea. It’s a stainless steel pot, so if i do lose power it should hold heat for a bit.
I bought a light bulb yesterday that is supposed to be an “emergency” light, so that if the power goes out, the bulb actually comes on, and it has 4 hrs worth of charge. You actually use it like a regular bulb, so i put it in a lamp in the living room and had it on for a bit last night, at least if i do lose power I should have 4hrs of reading time if its not bed time. lol

My power has blinked twice, second time to the point that i lost power for a brief minute. I threw a pie in the oven and prayed that i wouldn’t lose power till it was done. I know there are places around me that have already lost power. One of the business parks near me that has a shop location there I follow on fb posted a few hrs back that they lost power so would be closing for the day.
Currently still just raining, and the winds aren’t as high, but it only just started around 11am

Got a box emptied, still have so much to do.
Chilling here still in my PJs, its almost 130pm lol
Might play some WoW soon, and hope that the same thing happens today that happened on Xmas day, and that we don’t actually lose power lol

Not really much else to add.


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.