01/03/2018 in Mental Health, 2017

  • Jan. 3, 2018, 4:17 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I had my appointment with my therapist today. The first thing I did was mention my awful appointment with the other therapist. i wanted her to know that i A) at least tried and B)wasn’t 100% clingy specific to her. It’s more like 75%, but when you find a good therapist, who can’t really fault you on that, right? And I’m sure she enjoyed the stories in a “Now I know what i shouldn’t do to eff up this relationship with this paying client” manor. Win/win. I got that awful appt off my chest and she got to listen & take notes. ha.

She asked me what i thought my major things I felt I needed to work on priority-wise. I said perfection, people-pleasing, caring too much about what other people thing, and a general “if everyone else is happy, then I’m happy” mental attitude. I also told her about the zoloft mini-overdose incident and assured her that I threw away the rest. I also mentioned that i have not cut since I saw her last. I had to buffer the bad with the good.

She thinks I have codependence issues. At first I thought that meant that I was too dependent on others, and all I could think to myself was “I like to think of myself as very independent, thankyouverymuch.”

I did some research on it, because hey I gotta be that people-pleasing top-notch student. Here are some patterns & characteristics of codependency that fit me:

Denial Patterns: I have difficulty identifying what I am feeling. I minimize, alter, or deny how I truly feel. I perceive myself as completely unselfish and dedicated to the well-being of others. I can take care of myself without any help from others.

Low Self Esteem Patterns: I have difficulty making decisions. I judge what I think, say, or do as harshly, as never good enough. I value others’ approval of my thinking, feeling, and behavior over my own. I have trouble setting healthy prioritys

Compliance Patterns: I am extremely loyal, remaining in harmful situations too long. I compromise my own values and integrity to avoid rejection or anger. I am hypervigilant regarding the feeling of others and take on those feelings. I am afraid to express my beliefs, opinions and feelings when they differ from those of others.

Control Patterns: I have to be needed in order to have a relationship with others. I pretend to agree with others to get what I want.

Avoidance Patterns: I use indirect and evasive communication to avoid conflict or confrontation. I suppress my feelings or needs to avoid feeling vulnerable.

There are A LOT more characteristics for each of these patterns but these are the ones that ring true to me. I got this straight from a pamphlet I found online from Codependency Anonymous. That is actually a thing and a thing that she wants me to try. Problem is that the only meeting she knows of conflicts with my football practice - the meeting is on thursday nights and football practice is every tues, thurs, and saturday this season. I did a google search on my own, and I can’t find any just as close that would work. Literally none in the county I live in, but a few in the county i play football in and now see her in.

Anyway, I see her again next month. Hopefully the fact that I’m only committing to see her once a month helps with her not thinking I’m a clinger. I was seeing her every other week at the old clinic.

Football practice started last night. I was one of few who still had gas left in her tank at the end of practice. Thank you, kickboxing.


Last updated January 03, 2018


This entry only accepts private comments.

No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.