APPALLED in Postcards 4

  • Jan. 3, 2018, 10:25 a.m.
  • |
  • Public


Zoe, paint roller, and books. 2017.

I was running around yesterday getting ready for the 1000 book donation. Were the shelves emptier? I drove down and counted shelves and books. There was the thought that what was left was such an individual choice that no one wanted them. Not even at a buck a book. I watched while folks walked in and out of her space buying nothing.

On my way to buy boxes to put this collection in Thursday, I stopped at the local beach library. Whole sections of the shelves were bare. Totally empty. The philosophy, social sciences, and religion section was a blank canvas.

The clerk said gesturing toward the back of the room, “These are the old books.” Imagine.

“It’s all on the internet now,” said a friend.

No Kant, no Hume, few cookbooks too. I was appalled.

What do you think?
……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………….

  • Himself: Vastly better at last.

  • Me, myself, and I: Off to shelve books at the shop today.

  • Reading: More Louise Penny

  • Gratitude’s: That I have help tomorrow. We meet at ten.


gattaca January 03, 2018

That is rather appalling. I thoroughly enjoy reading a book.
Reading the same text on the internet is a poor substitute.

hippiechica15 January 03, 2018

I still frequent my library and go to used book stores. Can't beat a physical book!!

aunty EM January 03, 2018

I have two Kindles and an IPad and a prime membership in Amazon... Still prefer a "real" book....

Hillbilly Princess January 03, 2018

NorthernSeeker January 04, 2018

We've been mourning the demise of traditional libraries for years. There is something about walking about and picking up a book and reading a few passages in it that is very relaxing. Online books don't allow you to browse this way before reading. A physical book can be shared over and over....with a lot of the online books there is a fee each time it is read. Many people don't have the luxury of electronics and are left out.

Deleted user January 05, 2018

I read on my kindle app but nothing replaces an actual physical book to me . The kindle is for when I can buy a book I want to read extra cheap or carrying books is inconvenient ( like when we go on a trip , and even then I take some for the plane or when I am away from WiFi . Books have been an addiction for me since I could read ( age 3). You would have thought with the amount I have read I would have become a great genius or at least a writer but sadly, no. I just keep on reading :-) So many books and there will not be enough time:-)

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.