Boxes of fun in Well now

  • Jan. 2, 2018, 4:31 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

It was twelve days ago that I left the office
with a box of work and an absolute delusion
that I was some other person,
some sensible person
who was going to take that box home over the holidays
and deal with a semester’s worth of unfinished business
at a leisurely pace, an hour or two a day,
so that I would be all rested and caught up and worry-free
by the time break was over -
tomorrow.

Ahem.
Not exactly what happened.
I didn’t touch the box since I brought it into the house.
Wait, no, that’s not exactly accurate.
I had put the box on the table in front of the monitor
so that I had to work on it
before I did anything else on the computer.

Yeah, well, that really got in the way of everything I do on the computer
(and I do seem to live on the computer)
so I moved it under the table
where it was easily ignored for the last however many days.

Now I’m less than happy.
Work tomorrow, sigh.

  • Tangentially speaking, working a school calendar is really lovely.
    You get lots of breaks throughout the year and those breaks
    (paid for in smaller paychecks)
    are truly wonderful.
    The drawback, of course, is that just as you begin to get used to being home,
    the break is over
    and you have to face the bitter journey back into the real world/workforce.
    I really need to retire early.
    Of course, that won’t happen,
    too much debt and mortgage.
    AND THAT, my friends, is the basis for my lottery obsession.

So, pretending to be the adult I am not,
I got up this morning at 7
- Seven! on a non-work day -
and started on the box.

For the past three hours I’ve done almost nothing other than plod away,
page by page,
entering data and properly refiling those now-finished pages
into proper sorted and ordered files for return to work,
page by annoying detail-filled page,
(head-thumping occasionally that I let things get this out of hand in the first place),
until I’m now about half-way through the box
which would be great -
Except
I forgot to mention that there’s another box on the floor under the desk
that I brought home the day before I brought home
the day before I brought this one home.

Sigh.
I need to remember to get some more lottery tickets today.
Retirement, it is such a sweet fantasy.

Oh well, this was just another diversionary tactic.
I’d better get back to the box.
(I’m beginning to suspect you have to manage to grow up
before you can even start to think about retiring.)


You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.