The Gift of a Warm Bed and Cats in Everyday Ramblings

  • Dec. 31, 2017, 8:47 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Happy New Year! We aren’t quite there yet. This is the library at Portland State at dusk that I walk by all the time. I love the light here. The library was built around the heritage Golden Beech tree that at the turning of the day is full of crows, huge raucous crows.

I am being lazy this morning. We only have one service at church later and it is going to be the children’s Christmas Pageant that they had to cancel because of ice a week ago. 98 years they have been doing it.

It will be light finally in an hour and I am going to the gym. When I get back I have some great continuing education on knees and arthritis. I am teaching knees all next week.

I am finally well! My voice is still a bit iffy now and then but it is absolutely intoxicating to have my energy restored. I went to my regular grocery on Friday at the regular time and only had to contend with rain, just plain old rain and was positively giddy at the return to “normalcy”.

Yesterday I went to what I suspect will be my last Weight Watchers meeting in a awhile and then walked down and met a very energetic Frida and Mrs. Sherlock on the pedestrian path under the Steel Bridge for a walk around the river and a talk about the state of the world.

The main theme of our conversation was that government is not some big amorphous entity in authority out there over us to rebel against but actually is us, each of us, and the involvement we are able to get in.

When we leave it to the flakes and the fringe, the greedy and the passionate we get what we’ve got. Both of us are planning on getting more involved in the coming year.

Throughout the day I shall continue to contemplate my 18 for 18 list.

It is supposed to be both dry and above freezing here tonight for the turning of the year but I am going to do my usual New Year’s Eve yoga practice where I stand on my head (briefly) and let the old year go and then I am going to bed.

It is such a gift to have that choice.

May you be safe, joyous and able to muster some hope that whatever unfolds we will find a way to thrive.


Last updated December 31, 2017


Lyn December 31, 2017

Same to you.

mcbee December 31, 2017

I feel like my warm bed and my cats are an everyday gift as well! I am cognizant of all the little things that make life comfortable and happy. That is not a bad thing ending on year and beginning the next. Happy New Year to you.

leonalia December 31, 2017

May to 2018 bring you every good blessing.

ODSago December 31, 2017

Glad to see that you feel good again and to say so do I. I am smiling about your routine... standing on your head briefly and then going to bed on the new year's arrival. It's 11:58 here as I write this...if you were on Eastern time you'd be getting ready right now!..The photo is charming, too...love the dark buildings and that inner light.

Fireworks on the avenue outside now...I shall go to bed soon but doubt I'll do a head stand. My dad could...all six feet of him in the air tended to amaze us children. Wishing you the best of years. Good night.

Zipster January 01, 2018

glad to hear you are on the mend, so here's to good health in the new year. i feel so disheartened by the politics in this country that i truly feel powerless. i shall work to overcome that.

Zipster January 01, 2018

ps-mine was the gift of a cat and a dog in my warm bed.

edna million January 04, 2018

Happy New Year! I'm so glad you're feeling better - it's really nice when you have that shocking realization that you actually don't feel horrible anymore.

Deleted user January 13, 2018

Happy New Year ! We definitely need improvements in our government . We should have been able to vote for Bernie ! :-)

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.