Rarity in Stuff

  • Dec. 26, 2017, 4:10 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

As usual, Christmas is the calmest and most relaxed holiday. Mostly because we don’t involve anyone in the extended family. Just the four of us at home. I really appreciate this tradition, and I’d like to think the kids do too. We spent the day together, exchanged gifts, and ate some nice food.

In the evening, Olsen left with her boyfriend and Harry’s boyfriend came to our house, but for most the day it was just us.

I felt almost awkward and nervous about the bright purple woman’s robe that I had for Mercer when we started opening gifts. It felt like a weird thing to give my son, regardless of that fact that he’d asked for it. And then started wondering if I’d misunderstood his request and he didn’t really want that.

Then he opens a gift from Olsen and it’s a bright purple nightshirt. Maybe even what I’d call a nightie. Definitely feminine, and so close in color to the robe you’d think that we’d planned it. Mercer was really pleased with it, so that made me feel better about the robe.

I guess in some ways Christmas was a validation for him. Since his family was happily buying him feminine clothing. He’s yet to talk to me about this other than dropping giant hints like asking for the robe. I’ve decided I’m going to seek Megan’s advice on this when she comes home. I think her experience with this stuff will be very helpful.

I’m working a little this week, but also using the time to be home with the kids and get some stuff done around the house. With all three kids now being high school or older, I sometimes really get scared/nervous about a few years from now when having all of them home with me together at the same time might be a rarity.

Just thinking about that puts me in a sad mood.


SilentEcho December 26, 2017

I had a thought.

Does a conversation really need to be had? Maybe the act of asking for the purple robe, feminine stuff...IS the conversion. You love no matter what, you're open minded and you seem grounded and awesome IMO. They know you've got their back no matter what, your love is unconditional, you have some non conventional habits and what not that set you apart from typical households already, perhaps you've fostered the ability for them to be who they are, no questions asked, no conversations needed. There's obvious comfort.

Triple H SilentEcho ⋅ December 27, 2017

This is a really good point...(and also a nice compliment, so thank you!)
I've been wanting to talk to him so he would feel comfortable, but it's probably fair to say he's already feeling comfortable.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.