Bleh, Ice, Bleh in Everyday Ramblings

  • Dec. 26, 2017, 1:21 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

We were just supposed to get freezing rain on Sunday. Surprise.

Since then I have only been out a few steps. Right this moment, an hour before noon, it is still below freezing and unbelievably treacherous out there. Hard ice all round. The bigger streets are clear but getting to them…

This afternoon after work I am taking my grippers and my poles and a bus and getting myself to the grocery.

It has been two weeks now and I still sound sick but I am quite a bit better. I truly enjoyed the four days off work even if I was stuck inside for that last half of it.

I managed to get a couple of things done I needed to do and with the rest I just relaxed. Well, except for Christmas Eve, where I was determined to get 12,000 steps even though I couldn’t go out.

There was this one aerobic DVD I haven’t tried for a year and that in combo with being sick and the other low impact “stuff” I did my derriere was so sore yesterday I only managed about 5,000 steps.

But I did learn where I want to focus my attention in the coming year, at least on the physical side of things. If I can strengthen and stabilize those muscles my back should be fine.

My goal is to make a commitment to going to the gym twice a week for the whole year or 104 times. I don’t hate going to the gym, I don’t get bored so that is good.

It is just a question of making time. I have decided to (starting the week after next) go to the gym on Saturday mornings instead of the Weight Watchers meeting I have been going to for 18 months. Mrs. Sherlock is on board with this and we’ll still go hiking when we can, we’ll just start from a different location.

And after I have my last surgery in 3 weeks I can go to the gym on Thursdays after work instead of to the endless rounds of appointments.

For me to put this out here is a commitment. I absolutely have to take care of my back so I can function and do all the things I need to and I let that go over the last six months wrapped up in switching my third class and work and the weather, oh and that last big surgery.

And Olga my yoga teacher has started a private international Facebook group for teachers to post about their home practices so I’ll have some support there.

Now all I need is the ability to be out in the world safely!

Think warm thoughts. We did open three warming shelters on Christmas Eve here in Portland but gosh the idea of people stuck inside their sleeping bags inside their tents with this cold thing going around…

I hope you had a lovely break for Christmas and that the New Year coming on looks good to you, or at least get through-able. :)


Last updated December 26, 2017


Lyn December 26, 2017

Easy to get ice-olated in that weather! ❄️

noko Lyn ⋅ December 27, 2017

Oh I love that...ice-olated for sure!

edna million December 29, 2017

AAGGHHH to the ice—- that’s the worst. At least with just snow you can maneuver without falling all over the place. I’m trying to gear myself up to NOT becoming a hermit due to bad weather this winter. It’s quite cold right now— 20s during the day- but it’s not snowy or icy and trecherous. Still I avoid walking and also avoid doing all those things that would help and can be done indoors. Great idea to use the gym!

Deleted user January 01, 2018

Yeah, what a cold winter so far – here too!
What are 'grippers'? Are those the cleat-like things you can put on your boots?

I wish you the best with your back-related goals for 2018! It sounds like you have a good plan.

noko Deleted user ⋅ January 01, 2018

Yep. The rubber cleat things you put over your boots. Along with my rain pants they are a couple of my most prizes possessions because they mean I can out. :)

Deleted user January 13, 2018

Ice is not my friend. One bad fall and I won’t be walking.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.