Eight Spoons Down in Everyday Ramblings

  • Dec. 22, 2017, 3:35 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

This is the park a half block up the hill I live on this morning. We’ve had heavy miasmic fog but at least right this minute it is above freezing. We’ll have rain later, much easier to deal with than ice and snow. Or at least the ice and snow we are likely to get here.

I have today off from work and have been trying to get some chores done so I can walk with Mrs. Sherlock and Frida in the morning and spend time with my family later in the day tomorrow.

This cold/flu thing lingers. I am now at day 10. It has been just enough of a bother to make me feel basically miserable but not enough to make me stop doing things.

Yesterday I thought I was better enough to get on without any medicine and after a couple hours in at the office an irritant came through our cheap less than optimal HVAC system and I started into a coughing fit. I went out in the hall as to not disturb my ever so creepily quiet coworkers and ran smack into Nimrod.

I apologized profusely and explained about the medicine but a few minutes later he stopped by our office and suggested that I might want to work from home the rest of the day. He’s had it for three weeks and is still coughing periodically.

Saint Joe is getting better faster than me but he is 29 and in excellent health. He also hasn’t been out and about as much as I have in the frigid wind.

There are a few last minute gifts I need to assemble into gift bags, and some emails I need to respond to but basically I am done with all the holiday prep stuff.

I’d enjoy a well written new mystery series to read or something to keep engaged while I wrap up and rest for the better part of the weekend. I need to make getting well the top priority for this holiday.

And now that I have a break from work and teaching I can. :)

I am looking forward to practicing yoga in the next week without prepping for classes or learning new things, just plain reaping the benefits of practice. Ah.

One of the podcasts had a suggestion that instead of making New Years Resolutions one can make a list of 18 things for 2018. They suggest that you choose a mix of things, fun things, obligations, chores and aspirational things. And then post the list somewhere where you can see it.

I have been entertaining ideas for things to put on my list.

  • CPR training, I keep putting that off and I need to do it.
  • Completing my dental work. (I should get the last crown by March.)
  • Make appointment with an allergist.
  • Set up the ability to take credit card payments online for my classes.
  • Preserved lemons for gifts.
  • Make first appointment with a yoga trained PT for maintenance on my back.
  • Invite a non-family member over for a meal.
  • Go swimming.
  • Take everything out of big closet and repack boxes.
  • Go to a movie in a movie theater.
  • Go to the art museum.
  • Go to the Historical Society.
  • Go to the beach twice for a break, April and October.
  • Take the cats to the vet for their annual checkup.
  • Watch Borgen.
  • Do a Tarot reading for someone else.
  • Get back to goal weight and stay there!
  • Complete a poem and send it somewhere.

And plan a proper vacation and take it!

The thing about the spoons is…I was listening to an interview with a very accomplished woman that has had Lupus since she was 15 and she said one of the most helpful things for her with a chronic condition is to imagine that each day you only have so much energy and that energy is represented by a 12 spoon allotment. Some things take more energy than others. But when you use up all 12 of your spoons you are done for the day.

I am thinking right now I am down about 8 spoons with 4 to go.


Lyn December 22, 2017

May you soon feel spoontaneous. 🥄

mcbee December 23, 2017

Yes, I live by the spoon theory....parceling out activity knowing that I only have a limited amount each day. It is what it is.

Deleted user December 24, 2017

Hoping you are feeling better . I used the spoon idea for awhile then I kind of forgot about it . The eighteen spoons fit right in with me making my plans for the New Year !

woman in the moon December 24, 2017

I like your 18 for 2018.
I'm thinking about spoons. I sure know days vary in energy and accomplishment.

Deleted user December 25, 2017

I like your list of 18 things too. I may try it!
Enjoy your break! It would be nice to start the new year in full health!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.