Working at Walmart? in A small but passable life.

  • Dec. 21, 2017, 8:10 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Winter Solstice. 57 degrees today. Supposed to drop to 36 degrees tonight. And then back up in the seventies this weekend. I guess it’s better than 119 degrees? Or above 110 degrees for ten days straight?

Still not needing socks or shoes. But I did wear my convertible hiking pants this morning while out running errands.

I had to put the Peter Straub book aside to read a novel by a new writer Gabriel Tallent titled “My Absolute Darling”. An excellent first book.

The internet connection here was down for a few days. I had eighteen entries to read to catch up on and to note more than a few of them.

Mom and I have decided to cook and eat X-mas dinner here at home. I’m fixing ham, scalloped potatoes, a can of veggies, and dinner rolls.

At Walmart today Mom and I were stranded at the fabric counter with no counter lady. Mom finally got pissed at me for constantly pushing the “HELP” button and drove off in her little store scooter. I persevered. Finally a guy showed up. He was clueless about the procedure. I showed him how to measure out and cut off three yards from the bolt. And then how to scan and tag it. After having to walk to the other end of the store to self check out I found Mom waiting on a bench by the exit. She said, “No I didn’t leave because you were pushing the button. I decided I didn’t like that color. We need to go to Joann’s” Bullshit. We went to Joann’s. I went next door to the Goodwill to peruse books. I left empty handed. Mom was already in the car with three more yards of BLUE material, with a pattern. Not the SOLID BLUE she found at Walmart. Whatever.

We stopped at our favorite Mexican place for lunch. My phone knew I was there. Creepy much?

So yeah, a quick trip out for groceries ended up being all morning and no stop at the grocery store because Mom was wiped out.

Such is my life.

I have a story about book haters but I’ll save that for another day. Maybe tomorrow.


Emily December 21, 2017

You scared me for a moment there, thought you were actually considering working for the man!

Gilraent December 22, 2017

Deleted user December 28, 2017

It’s 3 degrees here in Illinois tonight.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.