Obligations in Stuff

  • Dec. 19, 2017, 5:28 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

The symphony with Megan on Friday was a good time. I was lukewarm about the idea of the evening as it got closer. I thought it felt weird to go out with her like that. But on Friday afternoon I convinced myself I was overreacting and it would be a nice. I put on that outfit that I bought specifically to go to Ron’s party last month and I knew I was dressed almost too nicely, but I enjoyed having another use for that dress.

Then Megan appeared in this black cocktail dress under a long pea coat and at least I felt like we’d matched with our levels of being overdressed.

We decided to have a quick dinner together at a place around the corner which is anything but fancy. I would say I felt out-of-place there but a lot of people were in there dressed nicely. It’s that time of year when people are headed out to Christmas parties and wearing things we otherwise wouldn’t wear.

We shared a pizza covered with vegetables and no cheese and I teased Megan a lot about her diet. She said that she wouldn’t earn any money as a trainer if she didn’t have a flat stomach, and I really didn’t have a legit response to that. I doubt I would hire a trainer that wasn’t in impeccable shape. (Megan is definitely in impeccable shape.)

There was something almost cliche about seeing Handel’s Messiah. Not something I would have chosen to do if she hadn’t suggested it. But I admit it was fun. Like most social evenings I often dread it before it happens but enjoy myself anyway.

I was a little sore from walking the distance from where we parked to symphony hall and back again in heels. I should have known better to wear those shoes. Megan commented that she’d massage my legs for me but I didn’t take her up on it. I like the idea of the occasional free massage but don’t want to be taking advantage.

Speaking of taking advantage of her, she mentioned out of the blue over dinner that she’s picked a contractor to do her hot tub installation and it will happen in the spring once the ground is no longer frozen. That will be interesting when that actually happens.

It was a quiet weekend otherwise. Tomorrow morning I’m taking Megan to the airport. I don’t have too many other obligations this week.


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.