Helped 5 kids get Christmas, didnt buy wedding ring in Misadventures of West Virginia Woman

  • Dec. 16, 2017, 9:18 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

I really wanted to buy a ring at Kays that is advertised this week for $25 because that is a good price for a wedding ring.I plan to get married next year.Life gave me other plans.

I graduated class of 2006. April was my friend then. We went to college together and grew apart. We wasnt very close but we talked every once in a while. I found out she couldnt afford Christmas for her 10 year old son Geremiah and 4 year old Bonnie. They cried when they found out Santa isnt real. I couldnt live with myself knowing this. I got shopping.

I have no children. I chose to have kids when my life was stable so far my life is chaos. Here I am 30 years old trying figure out what Geremiah and Bonnie will like. I bought him toy cars, yoyo, ear buds and a cars coloring book with markers. I bought Bonnie a doll, queen jewerly dress up set, a small toy pony, princess coloring book with markers.

My friend Bobbi from highschool told me about 3 little girls her coworker couldnt afford Christmas for. These girl are 2,4 and 9 I decided if it is good enough for Bonnie it is good enough for those girls. They each got a piece a doll, princess dress up jewerly set, coloring book and markers.

I felt bad for not buying more but considering i paid for 5 kids. 3 of which i have never met i felt like spending $38 for all the presents was a real steal. I caught everything on sale. I will never see the joy in these kids eyes but it felt nice to help even though i wish i was greedy and bought my wedding ring instead. There is always other sales. At least i saved 5 kids from being told Santa isnt real.

I tried to ask the single moms what they wanted for Christmas. Being selfless both said for their kids to be happy and healthy. My heart melted. I still might buy them both a little gift set so they can get a gift from Santa too.

I am from West Virginia. Most jobs are part time. People struggle just to feed their family and get by. I am fortunate enough to have a job for $9.50 an hour full time. I dont guarantee how long this job will last. Nothing is set in stone. Talan works at a gas station. He helps me pay bills. He has a part time job so i often pay most bills to help us get by.

When Talan found out i spent money for Christmas presents for 5 kids he told me he is proud of me. He rather me help a children than spend money on cigarettes and booze other people. I dont smoke. I very rarely drink. I certainty will not fund other peoples habits. I have more important bills to tend to.

I got to get the presents out of the car and start wrapping for these 5 children. I really wish i could have bought my wedding ring but i feel helping them means so much more. It is worth it.

I work tonight at 5:15 tonight in Princeton. I am guarding a highschool basketball game. Being a guard is hard on my legs, back and feet i am often mocked and disrespected. Knowing those 5 kids will have Christmas thanks to me is worth it.


Last updated December 16, 2017


Diana of the hunt December 16, 2017

You are a good person.

Beret December 16, 2017

Bless you

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.