Brass in Normal entries

  • Dec. 14, 2017, 2:48 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

It’s been decades since I was in what I call a blizzard. This morning I wandered out in single digit temps and brilliant sunshine to pick up some supplies, the regular stuff, Duct tape, a saw, tourniquets, multi-purpose rags, kerosene, you know, essentials. A couple of college kids in front of me in line, probably getting ammo and schnapps (undergrads, what’re ya gonna do?) were talking about last nights blizzard. We had a bit better than half a foot drop.

Three of the possible explanations are 1) Like when you go to your old elementary school and everything you thought was so stately looks so small and shabby because you are bigger and in the present tense 2) Global fucking warming 3) undergrads are stoned and sheltered.

When I think Blizzard I think white out conditions and a few feet of snow, both incredibly beautiful and kind of frightening, especially if you’re moving. Yesterday was just prolonged snow, at times big fluffy hallmark flakes at other times stingy little tight fisted pellets like soft hail.

I took a few uninspired photos. The sun was too bright and the snow so homogenous the pictures were … unworthy of these hallowed digital pages? No, that doesn’t sound right, lets go with uninteresting and overexposed. The only thing that could make these strained observations duller would be a bad picture of mediocre snow.

For the sake of mercy I’m going to step away from the keyboard and concentrate on have something of note to say or a lie so egregious it’s interesting if only because I have the brass to pass it off.


You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.