Time for an update in Mental Health, 2017

  • Dec. 13, 2017, 9:40 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

James got back from his visit home for his father’s funeral on Saturday. His mom has no plans on moving out here. James DID text me once while he was gone asking how I would feel if his mom came to live with us now that his father was no longer around to take care of his mom. I told him I’d have to take my happiness into consideration if that happened. He ended up talking to her about what her housing arrangement would now that her sole provider is gone.

She A) Has never worked a day in her life as long as James has been alive - 31 years. B) Can’t drive as part of her probation. C) Hasn’t kept her house clean. The time before when James was home he said his mom’s house was so dirty that if a health inspector happened to walk in, he’d condemn it. His one year old niece can’t even visit grandma because the house is just that unsafe. In other words she doesn’t bring in her own money, can’t run her own errands, take care of herself in general. SO my emotions were on egg shells the entire time he was gone because I just didn’t what was going to happen. I do know that he is a MAJOR momma’s boy. His mom’s last jail stint did more damage to him emotionally than his father’s death.

In the end, she told him that she has friends she can stay with and whatever else she said convinced him that she’ll be better off now that his dad was gone. He was also known to be an abuser. I think most of it was mental and emotional, although it wouldn’t surprise me if he also physically abused her. SO James is in good spirits that his mom appears to be in good spirits.

And I’m in good spirits because we still have our “normal” life sans family here.

I was late to work today. I forgot to set my alarm last night and ended up waking up to the sound of cat puking this morning. I ended up being only 30 mins late to work, so I’ll just stay an extra 30 mins later. Thank goodness my cat puked and woke me up? It did put me in a mood though. My mood is better now though. I work hard at that mood improvement ish.

My goal next week is to call the place that my old therapist is going to be working at. Last I spoke with them, they said they’d probably start scheduling appointments for her mid-December, and that she’d probably actually start working in January. So I figure sometime next week would be a good time to check in on that.

Anyhow, I’m bored at work and thought it was time for an update. Hope all is going well with you all. Off to read my bookmarks!


This entry only accepts private comments.

No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.