River (and plans) in Days of My Destiny

  • Feb. 2, 2014, 4:41 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

I am in love with this bikini:

http://www.ebay.com.au/itm/Bikini-Bar-Cream-Top-Womens-Balcony-Bikini-Rouge-/290960208991?pt=UKWomens_Swimwear&var=&hash=item43be94745f

Today was quite hot again, it hit about 40 degrees (Celsius). We went down to the river this afternoon, something we had not done in a long, long time. We really need to do more of that. We are all happy and relaxed in the water. It's different to going to the pool, too. When you're in the river, you're in NATURE. You're at one with what you were created to be, you know what I mean. At the pool, the smell of chemicals overpowers it all, and the girls want ice block and nag for that act of consumerism, and there's always someone you know there. It's enjoyable for what it's worth, but sometimes we need our own space and sense of privacy.

L packed some snacks to take. He packed crackers and cheese, except that he forgot the crackers and we had no knife, so here he was, sitting on his camping chair, slicing cheese with a pair of garden snips, lol. And we had no cups or plastic wine glasses, so here I am, sipping wine straight out of the bottle, LMAO. Classy ;)

L goes back to night shift tonight. The last time he did night shift was about 12 weeks ago. Normally there's a gap of 6 weeks between each shift (night, afternoon or day shift), but 6 weeks ago, he did only 2 nights of night shift and then we were off on our holiday!!! Yippeee!!!!

So. Plans.

April 2014 - I go up to spend a weekend with my one and only friend, T, for her birthday. I'll be killing two birds with one stone here, as I will also do a solo trip, which I have not done in 2 years (since T's 30th).

July - we will all travel to Queensland for L's mum's 60th birthday. Will spend a few days up there so that L can put the roof up on the deck (finally!).

September - it occurred to me today that I'd like to be with my younger sister on her 18th birthday. I figure, we can kill two birds with one stone again. We can all go up and spend a few days up with my family for her 18th, and then we can set off on our annual holiday. L will be working through Christmas this year, so we already knew we'd have to have a good holiday at another time. Why not September? :)

So these are the trips we have planned.

Plans for the house:

2014 - put roof and stairs on deck

2015 - paint outside of house

2016 - cement driveway (hopefully)

2017 - paint inside of house

2018 - move home! Polish floors.

I think these goals are attainable for each year. We are happy to put any tax returns into the house, which will also make things easy!

We are going to change the way we work our money too, seeing as the current way isn't really working. In the last two years we've been down here, we've tried a couple of different ways of working with our money, and it turns out that the way that REALLY works best, is the way we worked with our money when we were broke! Lol. We had a Bills Account, into which we would deposit a set amount of money each week. The amount was calculated as an average of all the foreseeable costs we would have in that year. So anytime a bill came, we had the money to cover it. (The hardest part to this system was actually getting set up so this could happen) Then, we also had a Holiday account. We would put a set amount in there each week, although I don't think it was ever actually used for a proper holiday, but the intention was there. Usually the money was spent on fuel for extra family events or sometimes the odd grocery shop, etc. (A failing on our part because we weren't strict on the whole Holiday account, but then, who is when there is such little cash inflow?) We had a debit-credit card that we used purely for booking things online, and I think it even had a $200 max or something. Then we had the normal, everyday account that we used for groceries and fuel.

When we moved here, the income went WOW, and suddenly there was enough money (and then some) for the groceries. Suddenly I had no idea how much I SHOULD be spending on the groceries each week and at one point I realised I was abusing this! I was spending way too much on the groceries, I was filling my trolley to the brim each week and getting glances. It was a nice feeling to finally be able to buy ENOUGH, but I was also buying TOO MUCH all of a sudden, so I had to realise that and adjust. Our general expenses have gone up, we have more bills now too, and that's okay. we are doing just fine.

Suddenly L realised that if we used a particular credit card, we could double and triple the flybuys points we were collecting, depending on the purchase. We decided to do what our good friends Matt and Liv do - they put all their wages onto their mortgage, and use their credit card for absolutely everything. Which means that, one, they cut down drastically on the mortgage interest, and two, when the credit card is due at the end of the month, they simply pay it off out of the mortgage! We decided to do this, but quite frankly, it just hasn't worked. We have been spending more than we are able to, which has meant that for the last 4 months or so, we've been coming short on the credit card bill by about one thousand dollars. It's because we've had unexpected things come up, such as trouble with L's ute, etc. So L has done overtime to pay off that extra bit on the credit card. The other night he told me that we're no even THAT far ahead on the mortgage. This piece of information was what made me snap and put my foot down. We need to get rid of that bloody credit card. L felt bad and was quite overwhelmed, I think he was taking it so personally and feeling like he's failed us, but I don't see it that way at all. I think it's GREAT that we tried what we tried with the credit card! It has meant a certain level of freedom with certain things and we haven't ABUSED it by purchasing lots of little meaningless things, and we've been able to accumulate a whooooole heap of flybuys points! It just hasn't worked the way we thought, so we move on to the next thing, simple as that. The thing is........... Matt and Liv are probably the only people I know who HAVE succeeded with a credit card. Oh and maybe my brother and his wife (if they have one). Everyone else we know has always said what an evil thing credit cards are. We thought, well if we do it right, we could work things to our advantage. But the fact is, we haven't done it right. I think for it to really REALLY work, you have to be SO on top of it and really keeping tabs like nothing else and being superhumanly organized about it all, and frankly, we are not those people. We like a little bit of relax, a bit of spontaneity, a bit of taking it easy. And so what? There's nothing wrong with that. It just means that the whole credit card deal (the way Matt and Liv do it), does not work for us. And that's OKAY.

And so... that's where my entries came from, regarding where my heart is. Because as I said to L, if we have come here simply to go home empty-handed (well in our case, mortgage-not-paid), then ... WHAT ARE WE DOING HERE? I'd rather go home next week. And he knew I meant it. I am focused like I've never been focused before. And it's not a focus as in, "I will focus on my goal so I don't have to think about how much I want to go home," it's just a healthy focus on this goal. We've always said, from the beginning, that if it got to a point that even one of us couldn't handle being here anymore, then we'd make sure to go home. I know I can be here for another 4 years with ease, because it's not like I miss home as much as I ever thought I would, in fact I rarely MISS HOME. And I know that 4 years will go so fast, I mean we've been here for 2 years already, what's another 4? That's only another two lots of 2 years, which will go fast! You know? But holy moly, I'll be the last person to stay here if we are going broke. [Which, in all honesty, we won't go BROKE, but you know, we have our goals and I am keeping them in sight, all the way. Eyes on the prize!!!]

So yeah. I think our approach with the credit card has been one where, if something huge comes up (such as a wedding invite to New Zealand, or the car unexpectedly breaks down), then we just don't think about it too much and put it on the credit card and we know we'll sort it out later. But you know what? It's been 4 months and still we're not "sorting it out". We're still coming short. I don't want to wait until we're stuck in the mud in a pit before realising that this just isn't working for us. Let's just accept the fact and change the strategy. And the fact that we got this invite in the mail is what really did even kick off the whole conversation. We were realising it was going to be quite an expensive thing that we hadn't seen coming and weren't planning on (turns out it's a No Kids Wedding after all, so that's that).... the fact is that when you try to "sort it out later", you never do, you know why? Because the money you don't have now, YOU WON'T HAVE LATER. And I've always known this, and I think this is why it's been easy for me to pick up on the fact that it's not working as soon as I have picked it. I will NEVER allow the credit card to sabotage our plans, and that is exactly how I see it! I feel so offended! I will NOT back down, I will fight.

Being down here really has been an amazing experience and I do enjoy it. I just know it's not for me for a lifetime, and that's a simple fact. It just means that I will enjoy it for the next four years as much as I will enjoy going home at the end of it. And the only thing that will make us stay longer than four years honestly, is God, lol. Not a stupid credit card! Pfffft!!!


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.