If I Could Just Stop Yawning in Everyday Ramblings

  • Dec. 5, 2017, 6:26 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

On Sunday we went out birding and had a good time even though it was a bit colder out on the island than in the city. Most Honorable brought his scope and it was relatively quiet out there so we actually set it up in the road a couple of times to attempt hawk identification.

We were able to see a big group of swans out on a pond in the distance as well as a pair of adult bald eagles keeping their eye on a nest as a possible home for the winter. And we saw a gorgeous owl like Harrier drifting over a field. And the Sandhill cranes are still here and many many Red-tailed hawks of various morphs.

And a plethora of robins feasting on the abundant berries out there.

Collectively we have forgotten a bunch of bird identification tips that we learned but collectively we do remember an awful lot. I just exclaimed at one point, “Well it has to be a Buteo because no way is it an Accipiter” and I actually knew what I was talking about.

There are still hunters out there and after a few hours the gunshots were getting to my already frayed nerves.

Last Wednesday when I was walking home from class somewhere nearby there were gunshots. I am no stranger to them but still it was unnerving.

I am playing hooky here because I have a bunch of stuff to do but I wanted to take a break and check in.

My work class wants me to keep teaching them, we all enjoy it but after the first of the year I am going to switch the class to Friday from Monday. And the good news there is that then I will only be teaching one class a day three days a week until I pick up another class.

Because honestly my back hurts after working a nine hour day and teaching two classes and walking enough to get about 13,000 steps. Even with some concentrated deliberate back care yesterday it cinched up when I got home and aches today.

I need to accept that I have limits and set a good example and get the rest I need to do this thing that I love so much.

Is anybody else reading “The Power” by Naomi Alderman? It is very dark and often exhilarating and so so topical right now.

I know that what is happening with all these revelations about sexual misconduct by men and the consequences of them losing their livelihoods is very scary to many men. I get that and I am sad that it has come to this.

If men, good men, honorable men, are uncomfortable and a bit uneasy about what this means for them, well, tough…

And I mean that in the best possible way. Get tough. Deal with it.

We’ve had to and now, now it is your turn.

Get a clue.

The cats hear something and are on high alert. With all the deliveries people get these days…It is actually a nice break as Diego seems to think that I am his own personal heated cat bed.

A full service cat bed.

Yesterday I managed to clip all his nails while he was lounging on me. Handsome Carlo is hopeless because he has razor sharp nails and is very particular about his feet and on top of that has a lot of fur between his toes.

Okay, enough distraction, time to do something useful.


Last updated December 05, 2017


Lyn December 05, 2017

😸

Deleted user December 06, 2017

I am always very observant around here even though I am walking in a timber in town because there are deer and hunters will always try to hunt them even if they know they are breaking the law :-( I wear an orange coat and make a bunch of noise :-)

edna million December 09, 2017

What a beautiful spot! I’m very nervous about hunters here, since the national park borders on open hunting land, and I don’t really trust that all hunters know how not to shoot someone walking in the park. Well, not to mention I’m pretty sure we could all get gunned down at any time no matter where we are, but that’s another rant entirely!

My cats came rushing up the stairs last night and deposited a very dead mouse in front of me. Ummmm, thanks, guys??? I think they were very disappointed that I threw it out the door instead of playing with it.

noko edna million ⋅ December 09, 2017

I am glad to read your two are keeping you well provisioned but still...eek!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.