Blame, Distraction and a Recycling Bin in Everyday Ramblings

  • Dec. 1, 2017, 7:21 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

This afternoon, just before dark on a piece of scrubland nearby where the express buses park. The encampment is all very neat but I do wonder how they get that “borrowed” recycling bin emptied. Maybe they wheel it back to where they appropriated it when it is full.

It’s been cold and damp all day but not wet and above freezing so that is a good thing. Saint Joe took the day off to hang out with his extended family in the little town south of here he grew up in and I was so busy I barely had time to go to the restroom. It’s been a long annoying week at work with unexpected problems from the upgrade a few weeks back.

So I am extremely glad it is over.

The folks living rough near here are making a gross mess of our garbage area. Sigh.

I admit I am not handling this news very well, all this disturbing news.

The people in charge of the U.S. Senate appear to be delusional. And that makes me want to do something! Go out and yell and send letters and make signs and yell and…

I listened to an hour podcast today (it took me all day because of my workload) about the #MeToo stories and about how we as women have accepted for years and years how powerless we are and denied the truth of our own experience. And how clever and strong we have needed to be to navigate a world where we are discounted at every turn.

We all do what we need to so that we may survive and hold a small hope that someday we might flourish.

This particular podcast was both international and yogic in nature so a slightly different perspective than mainstream American media.

Because I basically in many respects have been on my own since I was about 15 I expect I have a store of #MeToo stories that is a little larger than those who have lead more traditional lives.

All this stuff that is churning up to the surface is deeply deeply disturbing.

But it sure feels like this is “A Moment”. Something memorable.

I hope that we can pull some energy out of it that in the end will go toward the common good.

Did you know that 58% of the people who died of AIDS in 2016 were men? Partially because men don’t go to the doctor as often as women but also because they believe they are invincible.

That is so sad.

Women have to be strong. And go on.

I recently finished reading all 10 of the Aurora Teagarden cozy mysteries by Charlaine Harris (I listened to a couple of them on audiobook) and now I am watching the series Death in Paradise on Netflix. Binging as much as I can sneak in.

My back is bothering me a bit again and so I am doing more yoga on my own too and I have a plan for the new year about how to address this from both a yoga and physical therapy point of view.

At least I am sleeping well.

Weight Watchers is changing up their point system starting next Monday. Kes and I are both a little apprehensive about making it work. I am just frustrated with the whole thing.

I ordered a subscription to Gluten Free Living and hope I will find some inspiration there and I have a link to a blog that has some good healthy ideas but I swear I am blaming my inability to lose this last 5 pounds on the crazy con man we currently have as president.

Well I would if I felt he deserved the attention.

Which he doesn’t.

I’d rather think about Anita Hill and what a strong smart and amazing woman she is. Did you know that Joe Biden was the head of the committee that confirmed Clarence Thomas to the Supreme Court? I am going to be hard pressed to forgive him that if he makes a serious run for President.


Last updated December 01, 2017


Deleted user December 01, 2017

I always thought Anita Hill was telling the truth and that toad got off with no punishment. What a Supreme Court judge:-( and :-( to Joe Biden too .

Lyn December 01, 2017

May the Flynn situation affect Agent Orange as much as his orangeness affects so much of the country. (I must work harder on not giving undeserved attention.)

Zipster December 01, 2017

I just find the politics in this country so insane. It is clear that other countries view it as such. But why does it continue? I always believe Anita.

Deleted user December 02, 2017

That little encampment reminds me of the homeless tents and huts in Japan. They were all so tidy and kept so clean. Even the homeless sleeping in train stations neatly folded their clothes and other belongings next to them, and slept on cardboard with their shoes tidyly set aside. It was incredible.

I was curious about the WW changes and am glad to see their zero points food are all real, unprocessed foods. Finally! Which part makes you hesitate? (I forget...are you a vegetarian?)

mcbee December 02, 2017

I'm surprised and disappointed to hear that about Joe Biden, but I have to believe that the years and experience in between have made him a better man.

Deleted user mcbee ⋅ December 06, 2017

One can hope.

noko mcbee ⋅ December 17, 2017

I hear he did an interview with Teen Vogue this last week where he apologized at least for how Anita Hill was treated. I believe it was heartfelt.

mcbee noko ⋅ December 17, 2017

Yes, of all the politicians out there, he seems to be one of the most genuine.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.