Looking forward in Stuff

  • Nov. 30, 2017, 3:38 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I really haven’t written much about Harry’s boyfriend. And considering how much time he spends at our place, I don’t really see that much of him. Harry keeps him to herself. But he joined us this last weekend for putting Christmas lights out in the yard and he was surprisingly helpful. In fact, he seemed to do most of the heavy lifting himself.

He was climbing trees and walking on the roof and at one point I jokingly said to Harry, “If you guys break up before next Christmas I’ll be really disappointed.”

She responded that they were never going to break up, which of course is what everyone thinks about relationships.

The house looks nice. It’s not a competition, but everyone on the street decorates except for Megan. And it’s been that way long before she was the only one living there. That house stands out as the scrooge of the neighborhood. I’d offer to help her put up some lights but that feels like more of an effort than I feel like making.

I probably shouldn’t feel that way considering she’s apparently putting in a hot tub mostly because I said I’d be willing to share it with her.

I’m looking forward to this weekend more as a reason to not continue this boring week at work than for anything else. I was thinking about that recently…how when you’re a kid in school you so desperately look forward to weekends and you think it’s somehow better or different for adults, but it really isn’t. I look forward to them as much as I ever did.

For me growing up, my mother didn’t really ever work more than part time so she seldom talked about the weekends. And my father never expressed emotion, so even the idea of him even saying that he’s “looking forward to” anything almost feels weird.


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.