November 30, 2017 in Journal 1

  • Nov. 30, 2017, 9:24 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

The days I spend apart from this wretched media grow longer. It is only with the twiddle of my restless thumbs that I resort to its amateur solace. But, for what reason should a student twiddle her thumbs? Shouldn’t she study, if not another event comes to occupy her time? Why, yes! She should study. She should make her time not time at all with constant occupation of one thing or another; but she is sore is all. She is sore of being rejected and uncomfortable in the situations she chooses to engage in. She is sore for all her failed attempts at getting a job. She is sore for all her failed attempts at independent study. She is sore for all her failed attempts at attempting at all....
Okay, so I’ve been away 4 days when I said I’d be back everyday. Sorry… did I forget to mention that I’m a liar? Perhaps not so much a “liar” in the traditional sense of the word, but certainly a liar when it comes to making promises to myself that I so quickly can forgive myself for breaking. Whatevs.
Today, my cousin– who has been studying in Copenhagen for the past 5 months– is coming to stay with me for a week in London. Exciting! She’s really cool and, hopefully, the fact that I don’t want to look like a complete loser in front of her will kick my ass into shape. Or, in other words, I will start to be more productive now that someone is around to report back to the family about my well-being. And would you believe it, it’s already started. I’ve vacuumed and spiffed my room up all nice and neat, so that’s a thing. I’m also not dreading the few papers on retinal degenerative disorders that I need to read for school. Huh? Would you believe it? Ol’ Carnegie at it again with that “heart in the work” mumbo jumbo!
Anyways, I think that’s fine for now. The last 4 days haven’t been anything special. I went to a few classes and suffered through them all. I have to say before I go, if you are looking for interesting and exciting lectures and/or lecturers, UCL is not the place to go– at least, in the Biomedical Sciences department. Hopefully, next term will be a bit more interesting as I will be taking a Creative Writing course in conjunction with the required science courses I need to take.
I guess, we’ll see.


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.