A Small Business Milestone in Everyday Ramblings

  • Nov. 29, 2017, 5:38 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Rain and red berries and twinkly lights as a kick off to the winter season even though we have a few weeks to go before we get there officially.

Sorry about the polemic approach to my post Sunday. It is what I have been thinking about.

Last night was my last yoga class through the Fall Adult Ed program at the church. Usually the class starts out really strong with 20 or 21 people signing up and the most I have ever had in one session was 19 back in the big room at the church. By the end though it is usually down to 10 students or so.

I had 16 students in the studio last night and was quite surprised. I was expecting half that many. This is the 2nd time in 3 weeks I have had 16 students in one class. I am so excited both to be able to work with and share the teachings with so many but also because if I am bringing in enough money to cover the studio costs I can focus more on the content and less on marketing!

At first when I started teaching into this older population I would teach what I learned to teach, which are practices pretty much based on a younger fitter body with modifications I learned during my teaching for seniors certification training.

But I realized they were struggling with the material and I slowly over time started scaling back and presenting material to keep the joints mobile and bring ease into the body.

And then I took on these healthy 40’s bodies at work.

They want a challenge and to feel like they have “worked”. So I have been reveling in the old standards (we can do way more on our knees) and introducing new material. It is too much work to prepare two completely different classes for both groups, which means I have been modifying the “harder” stuff for my older students and I am getting a lot of positive feedback.

Mrs. Sherlock was congratulating me last night after class on the “success” of the program. She knows more than anyone how much work I have put into this. She has been an anchor for me all this time and I am so grateful for her support. I think I am finally confident of my abilities in this arena.

It is never a done deal. And I am going to continue to look for other opportunities to teach but the wonderful warmth, energy and chances for me to continue to learn to be a better teacher (and all around better human) with this special group is like passing a long awaited milestone on the journey.

Gathered at the milestone with a bunch of cool people. :)

Today I get my hair cut and this afternoon I am going to try Mark Bittman’s recipe for quick preserved lemons. I have lots and lots of mason jars and if I can get the recipe right I am going to make them as gifts.

My niece (Miss E.’s mom) sent me this totally cool Advent Calendar. It is this box with a little pamphlet for each day in red and green colors and each one has a short story in it; to get one into and to stay the course in a festive holiday mood.

Mrs. Sherlock is taking her hiking group through the downtown area tomorrow midday to sample all the decorations and pretty lights. It will be dark enough even midday. We are in cold rainy gloom central right now. I bet they will have fun.


Deleted user November 29, 2017

Congrats on having so many students ! It’s getting to be that time of year when most people want to hibernate but it’s been surprisingly warm intermittently here.

Lyn November 29, 2017

All this goodness has me smiling. 😃

Zipster December 01, 2017

You have worked so very hard, you certainly deserve to reap the fruit of your labor. I so admire the steady, thoughtful way in which you have perservered in moving forward. That sounds like a great advent calendar...who makes it?

noko Zipster ⋅ December 02, 2017

www.hingstonandolsen.com in Canada.

Zipster noko ⋅ December 02, 2017

Thanks.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.