Ry cooder solo in Normal entries

  • Nov. 26, 2017, 8:01 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

So I feel safe on these empty pages on this empty stage. I wrote a song. I can write music, but I can’t sing and I don’t know shit about the instruments that’d play this song. Imagine Paul Simon, Ry Cooder and Bela Fleck with a bellyful of bourbon and jump to their step, trading licks, bouncing and bring harmonies on each repeated phrase.
I took out my flute, the old geminehart, closed hole, and I played like I do, not practice, just like meditation. I was thinking about the way I used to write and my ex wife and I can’t remember what happened. With the writing process, not the ex, she killed my dog and she did other things too. She wasn’t my muse but I could write for her. Maybe because I didn’t give a shit. I don’t mean that in a cruel way, I mean I wasn’t in my head.

I know it’s not like for everyone, but when I’m in my head all the words crowd up fighting for a seat in front.

I played gentle stuff at first, lonesome tunes from far away, because I haven’t picked it up since my hand went numb years ago, and the sound means less than the emotion, and lonesome is easier to play. Then I stepped it up and the song come to me, but I heard it all in strings and flute just played harmony.

It’s not a good song, but if you hear it when you read it, if you hear like I do or like you do, you’ll know what it’s doing here. If you’ve ever crawled out a well into the night sky, happy to be free of misery, a low bar, you might hear it. Right at this moment, twenty minutes in sleeping pills, it’s stuck in my head.

If you don’t mind
I’d like to take you home
I’d like to take you home if you don’t mind

Would it hurt your pride
If I loved you anyhow
I love you anyhow
You can have my pride

I was out to sea
A long way out to sea
A long way out to sea
And I love you anyhow

I rode down here
But I never broke my horse
No I never broke my horse
just for you

I been gone, I’m back again
Out in the wasteland
I been gone

I kept your picture
Your picture in my mind
I kept it safe from harm
I kept it warm and dry

Won’t you go on and
Take your paw in mine
Take your paw in mine
And lets go home

Been a long time gone
Let’s go home
I been out to sea
Lets go home
My horse is wild as the wind
Let’s go home
I love you anyhow
And I love you anyhow
I love you anyhow
Let’s go home


Nash November 26, 2017

I cannot hear it because I am not a musical fellow but I know the threesome you cite could do something with it.

haredawg drools Nash ⋅ November 27, 2017

Yeah, in my mind it's a Paul Simon song with a Ry Cooder attitude and Bela Fleck adding urgency.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.