The euology of AIM in A New Chapter

  • Nov. 26, 2017, 12:55 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

A few days ago I heard the news that AOL would be discontinuing their AIM service (AOL Instant Messenger.) It is a strange feeling, for me and so many people of this generation, AIM was such a colossal part of our existence. I remember coming home every day from school and hoping on the computer to talk some more with my buddies or go into the chats to talk about video games, movies, wrestling, etc.

I guess I wanted to write about it because I don’t think a lot of people have really sat down to think about how much this silly computer program meant to so many people. It allowed you to connect with people from all across the country and the world. Looking back, there was a lot of predatory stuff that probably went on. We were the first generation to kinda go into it and I am sure plenty have bad experiences to share.

I remember having a little AOL girlfriend when I was 13 or so. Her name was Kelley but for all I knew she was a man in his 30’s pretending to be a pretty girl from West Virginia. I established some friendships and made online friends that I still maintain today. I have an online friend since around 2001 or so..that is over 15 years. We catch up, talk about music/movies, whatever.

It bothers me to see it go but it has been so long since I used it..and the last time I used it..it felt like walking into a cemetery. All I saw were the old usernames for friends that had moved on away from the program or my life all together. Man..what memories and how much has the world changed. Back when I was a 13, I never thought I could get old and yet here I am. The stuff that was so cool at some point and so groundbreaking..from the Sega Dreamcast to the music of Slipknot..is now just a memory of the past for so many.

Farewell AIM!


You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.