2 weeks worth of pay lost.cant afford life in Misadventures of West Virginia Woman

  • Nov. 25, 2017, 5:59 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

I have a paycheck that is 3 weeks late from the company i work for. I got an email saying it was UPS to me that it was resolved i never got the money. I emailed them they never answered.

I didnt get this paycheck. I been checking my po box didnt have anything. I arrange direct deposit today it said my check was $0.00. I dont have enough money to make it to work. I guess i will be fighting with the bank and the company i work for.

Talan called into work due to illness they took away all his hours for the week. Talan cried. I held him feeling horrible.

They tried to give me the shift i couldnt i didnt have enough gas money to make it due to their 2 weeks worth of missing checks. My car is tearing up i cant afford to fix it. :(

I cant keep borrowing money from mom and preying the money might someday make it into the bank account. I dont know what to do. What should i do?


A Pedestrian Wandering November 25, 2017

It's just wrong that you haven't gotten your paycheck. The state where you work probably has a department that deals with labor practices and I would contact them for help. The federal equivalent is the National Labor Relations Board. https://www.nlrb.gov/resources/related-agencies. But you should definitely try to find work with someone who appreciates your efforts (by paying on time). Good luck!

Always Forgiven November 25, 2017

Time for a different job. There has to be someone you can talk to about your missing check. Threaten a lawyer maybe? But if they claim it’s in the mail, a lawyer might not be the answer either cause ‘they did send it’ if they did. But yes, find work near home. If you are in the US and have an Aldi nearby check them out. They’re paying like $12-$13 an hour. Walmart is paying $12 where I live. Get on as a teller at a bank? Their pay isn’t too bad. Even waitressing can give you upwards of $200 tips a night if you are in a higher end restaurant. I would seriously just quit your job and find something closer to home. Obviously your job doesn’t appreciate you. They obviously aren’t gonna pay. BUT, fight for that money you are owed. Don’t just lay down on that one.

Always Forgiven November 25, 2017

Even some group homes pay ok. My husband worked at one. Just know you would be on call a time or two a week or even frozen cause someone no called no showed. My husband worked quite a few doubles and his paychecks were nice. That could be one way to get caught up a little quicker working 6 am to 10 pm. It’s like hanging out with friends. You take clients to activities, shopping, church, out to eat. But, the work isn’t always fun and easy. Depends on behaviors or their personal cares as well. BUT, is an option if you can handle behaviors, for which they’ll train you.

Always Forgiven November 25, 2017

Have Talan apply at Walmart (even their overnights might pay better), Costco even. If you have a UPS store he might be able to get on as a driver helper for the holidays.

Ok ok. I’m done. Sorry to hog your comments. 😂

(I read blogs but never write my own. I don’t have all sorts of fun stuff to write about. Lol).

Beret November 25, 2017

If sent by UPS there should be a tracking #. Try to get that tracking # from your workplace that had it sent. I realize that may be impossible especially if they are not answering your call. But keep trying. If the check is truly lost your workplace will want to stop payment on it and issue a new one. They don't want a check out there floating around. Good for getting direct deposit.

Boringscreenname November 26, 2017

If they sent it by UPS there should be a tracking number. I'd try to get it from your employer and I would be bugging the hell out of them until you receive it. Don't be passive about it, be proactive and raise hell you're entitled to the money they owe you.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.