A Good Thanksgiving in Mental Health, 2017

  • Nov. 24, 2017, 3:14 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I feel like I’m walking on shells just waiting for the bad news bomb to drop because the hubby and I actually had a really good Thanksgiving, just the two of us. James cooked a turkey; it was his first time ever. I helped baste it. It our our first Thanksgiving ever where we cooked a turkey and a decent spread for just the two of us. We also had stuffing, potatoes and corn. We have tons of leftovers.

The amazing part about all of this is that we got this entire meal cooked and eaten without one fight. James has high self-set standards of his cooking and usually what happens is this: he burns something like a tip of a finger, one of the animals gets in the way during a “critical step”, he can’t find a certain cooking utensil, or he drops something, and the result of all of these very minor missteps is that he loses his temper. And then I take everything that he says very personally and I tell him to watch his tone when he’s speaking to me and then he pouts that he doesn’t have a tone. Our fights are set on a very mature level when they happen.

But none of that happened yesterday. I’m still kind of like “woah, I’ll that that win”.

Do you guys ever have moments where things are sailing along smoothly, yet you just can’t help but to still brace yourself for the bad news that “must” be coming? I’m trying not to think this way because I know it’s not healthy. Trying to focus on our positive holiday and turkey/turkey spread accomplishment.

Hope you all had a happy holiday and that you were able to share it with friends or family (whichever you like better) lol


This entry only accepts private comments.

No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.