November 17, 2017 in Journal 1

  • Nov. 17, 2017, 5:06 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

As I said yesterday, I feel like I’m coming out of the funk. Unfortunately, I’ve woken up to find that I lost interest in all of the things I have invested my life in.
This depression is like a house with a thousand doors and twisted hallways when all I want to do is find the exit. I keep searching for the exit– opening every door– but most doors lead to no where– a dead end– while other doors take me further into the wretched house without my knowing. I think I’ve only gotten further into the house this time. This time, it’s taken away my fire and passion.
I just have no fire anymore. I usually go through the day with a fire in my chest and a heart aching to do a million things– to learn and create a million things. But, I don’t feel that fire anymore. In fact, my chest feels empty and my heart feels inert. The only affinity I have is for my bed and for the sleep that I will therein find.
This is so frustrating because I can do two things: 1. Accept that I am a different person now and try to find happiness as this new person, or 2. Reject this “new person” and keep on the path I am on now until I become the person I once was. The first choice would be an easy way out for now, but will likely bring me trouble and regret in the future; while the latter choice will be excruciatingly difficult for now, but will likely bring me joy in the future– if not, at least a very small amount of regret.
I think I’m going to have to choose option 2, because I don’t want regret hanging over my head for the rest of my life and I definitely don’t want to disappoint my family and friends.


I’m only 20 years old and life seems so long. Thinking about how much longer I have to live doesn’t make me hopeful, it makes me tired. How do people go 80/90 years without dropping dead of exhaustion? How do most people not just want to end their lives? How do other people think? What is it like not to be broken?


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.