Extrapolate! Please. in Everyday Ramblings

  • Nov. 17, 2017, 10:30 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

I must have taken this Tuesday as it rained hard all day Wednesday and most of yesterday. I am hanging on here to any color in the environment I come across and although most of the trees are bare and the ground is covered in huge piles of wet yellow brown orange leaves there are still a few patches of brilliant almost jewel color out and about.

At work we are starting our big system upgrade today. We have been working on this for about a year. All of us are apprehensive about how it is going to go though we won’t know for sure until next Tuesday when we bring it back up and make it available to the community.

On top of that this week management asked one of my coworkers to provide statistics (60 days worth) to justify her job. It was a crazy request, completely crazy and indicative of a complete lack of understanding about what information was available and how and to whom. Not that I have any feelings or opinions about this, no.

She asked me to help with the reporting.

Here is the kicker. She asked me to keep my help a secret.

I am still trying to figure out the logic chain behind that but I think it has to do with Nimrod asking us to cover for his lack of understanding. His job is the one most in peril here. And he is trying to protect my coworker. So I did it. And even with my fancy new join that I waited a year for in the timeframe that was provided I was able to get out 5 days of solid verifiable info instead of 60.

They darn well can extrapolate.

As there is actually other person’s job on the line here, a member of the Evil Empire and that person was made aware of where these pretty statistics came from and I was actually thanked. That must have been hard.

So just a little stress and a lot of overtime and you know how poets and spiritual teachers like to quote Leonard Cohen that it is through the cracks that the light gets in?

There have been unexpected incoming from left field lapses in my determination to hit my daily activity goals and honestly tracking what I eat/ate this week.

I have mentioned that I have a student that is a Unitarian minister and I absolutely adore her and feel honored to be able to help her take care of her body while she helps so many others. She has family with an unexpected and tragic illness in it in Illinois and has headed back there for the holiday.

I was telling her after class that it was you all from the Midwest that in response to my story from last Friday about the young man spitting on the bus driver suggested offering to pay his fare would have come to mind for you. Under the circumstances it did not occur to me or appear that it did to anyone else on the bus and how sad I thought that was, and how generous of the Midwesterners represented here.

Feeling bad about even talking about the story because it was so dark and I was concerned about another student of mine who was listening (who in her head lives in a besieged and dark world anyway) and it triggered a line of opinions about how scary the world is and how defensive we need to be.

Anyway my minister student had the most compassionate response towards me and all my fellow bus passengers and the driver it opened my heart in this lovely way, an ideal way, a way I would like to live.

My point, so unskillfully handled, was to encourage her by saying that by spending the holiday with her family in this crisis she was going to be surrounded by caring generous folk and that is a very good thing indeed.

I believe she is a person who lives in a world of cracks and sees the light everywhere. I am lucky indeed to have this contact with her.

Even if I do weigh 5 pounds more than I would like to. The silly things we focus on! Us vulnerable messy humans.


Last updated November 17, 2017


woman in the moon November 17, 2017

Lovely entry and thanks..... from this Midwesterner.

woman in the moon November 17, 2017

I get the thing about weight. Having the luxury to even worry about weight is a rare thing world-wise, even health-wise. Yet. When I am at a weight that allows me to 'easily' fasten my pants (and bend over too), I feel really good about myself. And there are real benefits healthwise from losing some weigh and keeping it off. It's not all self-indulgence.

Lyn November 17, 2017

You are very good, may that make all well in any perilous situation. 🤞

ODSago November 18, 2017

I love the caring thoughts that came from that story you related. Sometimes in the grip of moment I surprise myself with my seemingly perfect response (even I am amazed with it happening when it does) and I recognize that feeling when others come up with a perfect response, too.

Thank you sharing the wonderful late fall there with us. I miss the colors, so. So value your writing here.

Deleted user November 19, 2017

That was so kind of you to help your co- worker ( and Nimrod) . ! I hope they appreciate your efforts.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.