4 in NoJoMo 2017

  • Nov. 4, 2017, 8:11 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Today I wanted to free write. Sarah thinks that it’s a cop-out, but I was really tired yesterday.

I’m still tired, but the Tysabri infusion is starting to kick in.

Today’s accompaniment to writing The Fifth Column. They’re discussing Kmele’s soon-to-arrive daughter. Lots of birthdays, right around now, too.

does the math

Valentine’s Day.

But today is my grandfather, a few FB friends. Next week is my mother and brother.

Facebook’s been bouncing back and forth with college memories, since a former classmate is involved in a rather heated race for the Virginia House of Delegates. Mike and I had some political and philosophical differences back then, but I think he’s a good guy. Does it mean that if I lived in that district I’d vote for him? No, but that’s more about his partisan allegiance. But not because of a picture taken during a game of Beer Pong decades ago.

A lot of what I’m seeing from his party, though, is rank patronage. That their gubernatorial candidate is a VMI product illustrates that beautifully. With all the Kevin Spacey innuendo going around, his description of knocking the Citadel ring speaks to the boys’ network.

I’m not a part of that. My family is too poor, too Catholic, not white enough, etc..

But speaking of Byrd Organization products, I haven’t been back to read my entry from yesterday. I’m sure it’s disjointed, but that’s kind of my existence these days. The situation with health insurance is incredibly frustrating.

There’s a lot of choices that put me in this position, but so far as science can tell, nothing I did led to my physical condition. I had symptoms before I did any of the sorts of things that might be considered deleterious.

Maybe one of these crowd-sourcing pleas would be appropriate to pay for my health care.

I’ve tried, professionally, to take positions that’ll keep me cared-for. What do I have to show for it? The prospect of paying over $1,000 a month for health insurance next year.

With that, though, I can’t go up on the roof of my building with a glass of Scotch, and a cigar before it’s too cold.

Ummm....

Is there anything else I’d really like to write about? No, not really. The Saints are in first place, which probably surprises people. But, then, you might could attribute it to the Failcons doing what they do best.

I’m anxious to get back to OD to write.

But, much like the cigar and Scotch, will I have money to spend on it?

Tomorrow’s prompt: Would you read a controversial book, such as “Mein Kampf” or “The Communist Manifesto”?


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.