Activist in Stuff

  • Nov. 2, 2017, 5:15 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I think I’ve written before how Olsen has become a bit of an LGBTQ activist in the last year or so. I fully support her, of course, but I also can’t help but wonder what drew her to this since she’s never claimed to be anything other than straight, and I can’t really think of anyone I know in her life that is LGBTQ. But it’s all good. It’s a good cause, it keeps her busy with things, it teaches her some skills, and it’s a positive for the community. All good things.

She’s been training with an organization to be able to take phone calls at a call center for people that want to either report or just talk about domestic abuse specifically in non-straight relationships. She’s enjoying what she’s learning but is nervous about actually doing the work once she is fully trained. A little taste of what it’s like to work and learn new job skills. For her, this is fully volunteer work, but it will still help her get a feel for what it’s like to have a career.

But the side effect of all this is she gets us as a family more involved in things that we probably otherwise wouldn’t have paid any attention to. Specifically this weekend there is a documentary about a gay artist that she wants us to go see with her, and I admit I’m at least partially looking forward to it.

I just realized that our newfound family friend Megan was married to a woman. I don’t know how she identifies (bi or lesbian or something else) but I guess that means we actually do have someone in our lives that is LGBTQ.

Worth observing also that we live in the part of Boston that has been considered a big lesbian community for years, and these days is more like open to all identities and not just specifically lesbian.


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.