Non-date in Stuff

  • Nov. 1, 2017, 1:45 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Is this weird? I asked Ron if he wanted to go out for dinner last night. This is the first time I’ve made an invite like that to him. Prior to yesterday, he was always the one asking me out. So I call him and tell him I’d like to have dinner with him, and I suggest a nice restaurant that I’ve always loved, and he responds, “That sounds great. Do you mind if I bring my daughter along?”

Well, technically I don’t mind. I’d like to get to know her more. But this immediately changes the evening from something romantic into just dinner.

I think I managed to keep the disappointment out of my voice when I agreed. Then, almost out of spite, I asked if I should see if Olsen wants to come. He eagerly agreed.

The four of us went to Spoke in Somerville, which isn’t exactly close to home but is a great restaurant. The two girls are two years apart in age and they seemed to get along just fine. It ended up being a good night of socializing, and I guess there’s nothing wrong with that.

After dinner we each went to our separate homes, which is what I expected so I wasn’t too let down that I’d be sleeping alone. Olsen wanted popcorn for some reason so we stopped at a store and picked some up before getting home, then we watched a scary movie and ate popcorn.

I don’t even bother with planning on giving out candy because my neighborhood is so isolated from other neighborhoods, no children ever come out here. It always made me feel a little guilty when the kids were younger because I feel like Halloween candy should be an even trade, like I should be giving out as much candy as my kids are getting from other people.


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.