Boyfriend in Stuff

  • Oct. 28, 2017, 10 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

So Ron texted me yesterday about lunchtime. He apologized that this was such short notice and said that his firm was having a formal dinner party at the Four Seasons that night and was wondering if I was free to be his date. We both work for larger law firms in the city and I’m sure he knew that I’ve been to these types of events before and what to expect. I knew that this was going to be quite fancy and that his firm likely spared no expense. I also knew that he had probably known about it for a few weeks so it was strange that he was mentioning it to me on the afternoon of the dinner.

I responded that I appreciated the invite but wasn’t sure I could make it with such short notice. I purposely didn’t exactly say no. I was curious how he’d respond.

He wrote back “If it sweetens the deal it all, I also booked a suite at the Four Seasons for the night just for us.”

Yeah, that really did work for me. The idea of getting the whole night out with him and waking up with him in some luxurious hotel room made me decide to agree.

Fortunately I was in a place where I could leave the office early, so I walked down Newbury Street to see if I could find something to wear to a formal event. I don’t splurge on this kind of thing very often, but I did end up spending way too much on a dress, lingerie, and shoes. I remember walking out of the store thinking that I hoped the night was worth what it was costing me.

He picked me up at 6:30 and was in a tux, so that made me feel better about what I’d bought. If I’d taken something out of my closet I think I would have felt under dressed. And that was confirmed even more when we got there. If anything, I was feeling a little awkward that I was carrying around this old black clutch and hadn’t bought a new one that specifically matched my outfit. It was that kind of event.

It was good to meet some people from Ron’s life, both friends and coworkers, and to hear people talk about him as such a great person. He introduced me to people by name and then either called me a “friend” or his “date” and no one really questioned the status of our relationship.

As the evening grew later and later I was trying to not make it obvious how much I was ready to head to our room. I don’t drink, so it’s always a bit unpleasant for me in the latter part of the nights at events like this because I feel like everyone is drunk except me. Ron had a couple glasses of wine but was definitely limiting himself. I wasn’t sure if that was normal for him or if he was doing it for my benefit.

Nearing midnight, we went back to the room. I was feeling overwhelmingly amorous for him, or just insanely horny, but I also worried that I would crash quickly because I’m usually in bed by 10:00. When we were alone in the elevator, like he’d been reading my mind, he said something like, “I hope you still have some energy left because I don’t want to go to sleep for a while.”

Sex with Ron has never disappointed. I mean, this was only the 4th time, but it’s still great. I love how he takes his time and seems genuinely concerned with my pleasure. We finally fell asleep a little after 1:00 this morning. Both of us are accustomed to waking up early, so when we both had our eyes open at 6:30, naturally we had sex again.

Laying there together this morning sweaty and aroused, he said, “How come this doesn’t feel like a real relationship, and how can we make it so it does?”

I responded, “I don’t know. We both own nice homes, I don’t think we’re going to be moving in with each other any time soon.”

He laughed. He said, “I’m not talking about logistics. I’m talking about how I have real feelings for you and want to have more with you than randomly going out and having sex. Not that I haven’t enjoyed every minute of it.”

I’d been avoiding this with him. I knew he wanted it and I wasn’t sure what I wanted. Nothing against him. I’m completely happy with him. I just don’t know what kind of commitment I’m ready for. I responded that I wasn’t sure how to proceed and maybe we should just trying spending more time together and see what happens.

I also told him I didn’t like the terms “boyfriend” and “girlfriend” for people our age, and since we both work in law I wasn’t going to use the term “partner” either because that means something else in our profession. So we’ll have to think of something.

But in the meantime, I guess I have a boyfriend.


Deleted user October 28, 2017

Sounds like a great night. I know what you mean about boyfriend/girlfriend past a certain age, it just feels silly.

SilentEcho October 29, 2017

Yup, you have a boyfriend, embrace it. :) :) :) It does bring back a little feeling of youth having giddy feelings, all that sex, etc and I don't think it is an immature word. Drives me crazy that people think that since they aren't teenagers they can't refer to the person they are in a committed relationship as a boyfriend or girlfriend. I get why you can't say partner and honestly that wouldn't fit even if it didn't have any other meaning.

Triple H SilentEcho ⋅ October 30, 2017

I have a good friend that always refers to her husband as her "partner" and it feels really weird and forced when she does it. It'd be less awkward if that was a more commonly-used expression.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.