Chilly damp morning in Day to day life from a woman that turned 60 in Oct 2014 and who lives on a farm and Retired on January 2, 2016. I plan to do more sewing, work outside in the yard and just enjoy my retirement.

  • Oct. 23, 2017, 5:04 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

6:14 AM Monday, 23 Oct 17-I wrote a fairly long entry yesterday AM and lost it and didn’t want to start over so I didn’t. I was so proud that I was writing another entry and then bam it was gone. Just the accidental hitting of the wrong key combos and it deletes it. Dang. So I’m writing this in Word to avoid another Bam!

Dad is improving. Very slowly but he is in and out of reality now instead of just out. I took his sister up to see him on Saturday morning and we arrived around 10 AM. We were going to eat lunch with him, but he wasn’t hungry so that didn’t happen. We stayed for about 1 ½ hours and then headed back here with a stop at Steak & Shake for something to eat. We both ordered the Turkey club and it was delicious. When we arrived back to my house my driveway was where I couldn’t pull in so I ended up pulling in the lower yard. Dude and his mechanic friend had been working on several of Dude’s things to get them started again. They worked on a lot of stuff including one of Dad’s 4-wheelers. I paid the guy for fixing it as he had to take things off, clean them, and then put them back on it. The gas these days destroy gas powered everything. We’ve had to have the mowers, weed eaters, 4 wheelers, etc (anything gas powered) redone because of the ethynyl they add to the gas these days. It certainly keeps folks who work on them very business and never without a work. My aunt didn’t stay as the clouds were moving in and she wanted to make sure she got home before it started raining.

Aunt told me she thought Dad was going to worse than he was so I guess I laid it on too thick. I just wanted to forewarn her and dad’s brother that he may not always make sense in subjects he talked about with them. The thing was, he didn’t really didn’t do a lot of talking but he did ask her about their grandparents. They talked about them and an uncle and aunt or two. I do have to say she dealt with confusion with her husband that passed away a month or so ago so it wasn’t exactly a shock for her either.

Yesterday morning I was determined to get to church since I hadn’t been able to be there for the last couple of weeks. Saturday afternoon I had decided to clean in my garage since I hadn’t parked the Tahoe in it when we returned home. During my getting all the powered by rechargeable batteries back in their big case, I dropped one of the batteries on my right foot. Ouch! Well yesterday morning when I woke up (actually the pain woke me up) it was hurting and swollen. I wasn’t sure I was going to be able to put on a pair of shoes. But I did, just a bit bigger pair. It still hurt but I could walk. Then I discovered a dead tree had finished falling and it was across my driveway. It was raining, but not hard, and I wanted to go to church so I got my electric chain saw, filled it with bar and chain oil, checked the chain, and put the reciprocating saw with the fully charged battery and an extension cord in the back of my vehicle and drove the short way to where the tree was in the drive. The back of my vehicle open up giving a little “roof” to keep the rain at bay. I started with the reciprocating saw and did ok until I got the blade stuck. Oy vay! Then got the electric chain saw to continue and did ok until the chain came loose. Well dang! A was sitting on her deck when I walked up to the shop to get a hand saw and ask her if she had some boys up there who could help. In just a minute O appeared and then more boys. I had one of them come to my garage and get another blade for the reciprocating saw and we got enough cut so I could get through to get out of my driveway. Yay! A friend of hers came yesterday afternoon and used a gas chainsaw to cut it off the fence and into movable pieces. Again Yay!

I fixed chili for supper last night but J wasn’t too thrilled. He ate the leftovers from Saturday’s supper so everything turned out ok. I will say my first chili of the Fall turned out great! I really wanted more of it but refrained and glad I did. I only used a half can of chili beans but still.

Today A’s friend is going to the local lumber yard and either get or order gutter shields for my house. They are on sale and I really think it would be helpful since we have leaves and small limbs blowing or falling year-round. He is then going to put them on for me since I’m getting a bit older and a bit leery of the using the tall ladder, it will be good and he doesn’t need the ladder he just gets on the roof. Even when I first built the house I just didn’t have the nerve to walk on the roof. Thank goodness for A’s friend. He doesn’t charge me a lot for doing stuff like that and stuff like that needs to be done.

I got into OD last night finally. It took days for me to finally get in. IF it is that complicated when it open to everyone, I think people will shuck it. Not everyone has had as much problems getting into it I guess but I know several have and I had written the DM a reply back to him after he had given me the same info he had before that I just didn’t have time to keep trying and thanks but no thanks. Next email I received had a screen shot and arrows on where to go. I had been so close, but I was not there. I was and am still really peeved at OD. I may should be peeved at myself for having so much trouble but I should not have had to have THAT much trouble. I know I didn’t have that much trouble getting into PB or I would have not stayed.

Enough of my venting. This month has been extremely stressful and my patience and tolerance level are pretty much gone. I can blame it on stress but really? When I did get in, strangely I felt a bit depressed. The last entry I had written to the DM telling him I understood how much time it took to maintain it and he just didn’t have time any longer. I got that. Now he’s found the time to revamp it and has been working on reawakening it for months. How did he find the time? And why should any of us trust him not to jerk it out from under us again. Are we and OD like 2d best? Like a true love that found someone they loved more than you, had to cut ties, then their “love” dumped them and well what do you know, they missed and loved you after all. I’ve never fallen for that one with a man, so I’m leery about falling for that with a website that knew way more about me than any man. Just sayin. I’ll “test” it, but I’m staying with Prosebox. There was a hero who understood our need to write down memories and have a safe place to do it and Prosebox was born. He didn’t have to but he did and I’m satisfied here. I did take some time liking it, but I do and I’m staying. Well unless PB is jerked out from under us too, but I don’t think it will be, at least not anytime soon.

Well maybe I wasn’t done venting but I am now and need to get on with my day. I’ve got some shirts to make.

Take care and God Bless


Last updated October 23, 2017


cardslinger October 23, 2017

I am curious about OD but will stay here.
How is your foot?
Glad your Dad is improving.

middle age pearl cardslinger ⋅ October 23, 2017

Really pretty purple now. Thanks for asking.

crystal butterfly October 23, 2017

I don't remember deleting my diary, but he has no record of my lifetime membership. Even if he gets it open I would go back. I, myself, have wondering what new encoding skills he needs to perfect for whatever job he has now and when will the novelty wear off again.

Hope your foot is feeling better.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.