La La La, A Gazillion Things to Do in Everyday Ramblings

  • Oct. 22, 2017, 8:50 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

The same local trees from the other side a mile or so away about the same time the next day, Friday. We had record-breaking rain and flash floods yesterday so I didn’t take any pictures. It was all very dark and dramatic.

The floods are because of the fires. There was an emergency evacuation alert in the late afternoon in the majority area where we had our local big fire. Just think, your serene place in the Gorge makes it through the fire and now…

Well the floods are because of the fires but the heavy drenching intense rain is because of climate change.

I have about a gazillion things to do but I am playing hooky writing here.

The weather was problematic for walking yesterday morning so Mrs. Sherlock decided to pass on our normal Saturday morning walking adventure and I woke up with a stingy migraine tired and decided to skip the Weight Watchers meeting.

My underlying theory on this was I was going over there later in the day to go to one of their focus workshops. It is a new program they were testing that is a mash up of Western Cognitive Behavioral Therapy, some interesting simple physical practices (like tapping) with some scientific legitimacy and homogenized Eastern religious practices.

Last month the theme was identifying your emotions and this month was about tying those emotions to a need and then practicing approaches to getting that need met.

The facilitator was lovely and warm and there were four of us participants. The materials are clear and very well done. They made an exception to their rule and let me take an extra workbook for Kes because I wanted to show her mine but I had written, you know, umm, personal stuff in mine.

Afterwards I went over to the coffee place where I had met Mr. Finch for the very first time and hung out with an extravagant hot chocolate until it was time to walk up the street all geared up to my massage appointment.

Boy that felt good! Talk about getting a need met. I need to get back to the gym and regularly doing my PT exercises. The extra load of switching my schedule and teaching a younger student base is that my back had been sore for a couple of weeks.

It is clear that the minor scoliosis I’ve developed and the arthritis in my SI joints is going to have to be managed and not ignored from now on.

I have been teaching into those areas, or at least in areas that are connected the last few weeks and the class prep more than anything I think had put some strain on the supportive tissues. I try more challenging things and then adapt them to a level that is available to my students.

While I was checking in for the massage I got contact info for the studio manager. I had the massage at the yoga studio I used to take class at long before I started teaching.

I am going to talk to them about offering a class for older and bigger bodies, something they do not do.

Kes is coming up today and we may or may not go birding depending on the weather and how we feel when she gets here. I am sending stuff for the beach trip next weekend home with her as I’ll be taking the bus down to Salem on Thursday.

And then I need to get ready for my classes tomorrow. And work. That.


Lyn October 22, 2017

You have the very best attitude.

Deleted user October 27, 2017

Those leaves are beautiful !

edna million October 30, 2017

That is such a gorgeous view! The workshop sounds really interesting.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.