Blurry, But in a Good Way in Everyday Ramblings

  • Oct. 20, 2017, 4:27 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Yesterday afternoon from the 11th floor of our outpatient clinic building where I was getting my eyes checked. The picture is blurry because the light was so low but after I had my eyes dilated I was blurry all afternoon and into the evening. It made walking home through those colorful trees a smeary painterly delight.

There was very good news from this visit. My doctor said I just have the slightest trace of cataracts and I won’t need to get them addressed for decades. Plural. And there is no sign of the macular degeneration that plagued my older sister. I haven’t had new lenses for 2 ½ years and my vision is stable except for a modest increase in nearsightedness.

You don’t want to get me started on how the vision benefit that we have works though. The one I pay extra for. The “refraction fee” that was a surprise. But the new glasses will be about $350 cheaper than the last full pair with new frames I got five years ago. This is because I am using the optometry shop associated with our Eye Institute, which I hadn’t tried before.

Nimrod, my boss, apparently had a public melt down in the office late last week and yelled at a coworker who is a student of mine. I can’t say I am surprised. Nimrod has serious anger management issues as well as something that I think of as Narcissistic Personality Disorder (although it seems pretty mild these days compared to a President that we all have heard of).

Anyway, now she doesn’t want to come to classes he goes to. Sigh.

Saint Joe and I have learned how to manage and be with Nimrod. It has taken us a couple of years but we have a pretty good idea of what triggers him and we stay far far away from those things. My coworker was exclaiming (in a whisper out in the hall) how unprofessional it all is!

Well yeah.

I admit I laughed because there are very few things about my job that I would consider professional. We act that way to our customers but we are an aberration.

It is all kind of sad. The President of the institution for whom I work has been diagnosed with M.S., which is also sad. He is retiring at the end of the month. With all the crazy stuff going on with healthcare in Congress and the White House…

I just hope I have a job (unprofessional as it is) until I can retire with full benefits in 2 ½ years. And reasonably decent health insurance after that.

The yoga studio just hired a new manager as well and he is not the most articulate individual I have received correspondence from. Oh well, my guess is that his tenure won’t be long and I can ride out this wave. They want to advertise my classes through their wellness healing woo woo massage tarot essential oils center next door and they are now calling the room I rent the Conscious Movement Studio.

Okay fine.

And it is raining.

I hope to get around to visiting everybody here soon. There is just so much to do. I am taking my poor ancient (7 years) laptop to the beach next weekend so I should be able to by then.

Did I mention it is raining?

At least we have power, unlike the majority of our fellow citizens in Puerto Rico.

Double sigh.


Last updated October 20, 2017


Lyn October 20, 2017

Wishing you strength and dryness.

mcbee October 21, 2017

Yes, when I got glasses this year I was shocked at how expensive it was. I paid as much for one pair as I usually pay for two....and that didn't include the outrageous exam fee.

ODSago October 21, 2017

Conscious Movement? I giggled when I read it.... Sorry. And I was amazed by your wonderful news re: cataracts. I had two ages ago...early sixties...and I have brown eyes and was "conscious" about wearing my sunglasses all the time. Kermit had blue eyes (which are said to have a tendency toward cataracts) and never had a trace of one. Lucky you, again. I think your body re the work on your teeth as suffered enough for a year or so. Not to worry about being busy, not reading others....we are all understanding and busy, too.

Deleted user October 27, 2017

I still have not dealt with my “ enlarged optic nerves” . My gut feeling was that was a scam to order expensive CT scans . Her loss because I intended to order glasses until she got me so upset. I found it odd if it was such a serious issue that she told me it was still fine for me to get new glasses. Amazing .... anyway I have enough to deal with without obsessing about that :-)
Conscious movement : that is one way to describe it :-)

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.