Bedwetter in Stuff

  • Oct. 20, 2017, 4:05 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I had the morning free today and was doing some straightening up around the house. I have mixed feelings about my children’s privacy. I like them to feel like they have their own space in their bedrooms. I’m sure they all have stuff in their bedrooms that I don’t know about and that they would be embarrassed if I did. I think I’m OK with that. I know it was true about me when I was a teenager.

On the other hand, I don’t think they have any strict right to privacy at all. I think I can go into their rooms and look at whatever I want whenever I want. I just don’t really do that. I don’t want our family life to feel like I’m the leader of a police state.

So I’m in Mercer’s room this morning doing a quick cleaning of the floors. We have a woman that comes in and cleans weekly, but I find the floors ALWAYS feel dirty and I obsessively clean them sometimes two or three times in between the weekly cleaning.

In Mercer’s room there is a weird urine smell. I wasn’t sure what to blame it on. We don’t have pets. It wasn’t a particularly strong smell, but noticeable. After a little bit of searching, I pulled back the blankets on his bed and saw the wet sheets.

Moreover, it was pretty clear from looking at them that they’d been wet, allowed to dry, and wet again. Multiple times. I pulled the sheets up and saw the mattress was in a similar condition, not just wet but obviously it’d been wet many many times in the past.

I won’t deny that I was shocked. Something that clearly has been going on for a while without me having any idea. I’m not sure what to make of the fact that I have a 15 year old bedwetter who never wet the bed when he was younger.

It’s probably a sign of something, but I’m not even sure what.

I will have to talk to him about this, but I put his sheets back to the way I found them and left it because I want to think about this before we talk.


SilentEcho October 20, 2017

No idea how I'd go about that, good luck to you.

As for my parenting, nothing is off limits as it's my house until she's 18 so I can go through anything I want to whenever I want to especially because I know what I did and how I was with the surge of technology I had at my hands that my mom was too dumb to know about at the time. My mom did it to me and I'm sure had her mom done it to her maybe she'd have prevent my mom from running away? Who knows.

Triple H SilentEcho ⋅ October 20, 2017

I feel the same way. I want my kids to know that I could go through any of there stuff at any time. But I haven't really ever done that and I hope I never really feel the need to.

Perpetually Plump October 25, 2017

We have similar expectations of privacy in our home. I can pick up her cell phone or go through her room at my leisure, but I rarely do.
Also, not to be an alarmist, but sometimes, bed wetting at a later age can be from sexual trauma. Or diabetes. But maybe he's just lazy about getting up to go or his brain is signaling him too late.

Triple H Perpetually Plump ⋅ October 25, 2017

I've definitely worried about this, that his bed wetting might have something to do with something psychological rather than something physical. I mean, I see no other signs of anything, so I hope it's not anything serious, but I feel like I need to get to the bottom of it and I'm not fully sure how.

Bird of Paradise November 17, 2017

I had periodic issues with this as a teen. Always worried when I stayed the night at someone's house. At some point the issue went away.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.