Solo Geocaching. in Adventures in Geocaching.

  • Oct. 20, 2017, 1:59 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I did some geocaching on my own today. I figured I had plans to walk, so I might as well grab some at the same time.

First, I went to a stretch of trail that winds all through the city. There are a TON of caches in a short distance. I managed to grab 3 there. There were a few that were out of my comfort zone. I like to at least have the cache in view before I bushwack through a bunch of trees and bushes.

This was right at the beginning, I grabbed one right through that brush.
alt text

There was one down in these rocks. I was a little hesitant at first, because rocks. Also, it said it was a camouflaged container in a thousand rocks. But - I was able to spot it pretty quickly.

alt text

alt text

I got near the end of that trail where the caches kind of stopped. There was one more that was off a trail off of the main trail and in the woods a little. So I started for that one, then to the left I spotted what I assumed was a little homeless camp. So I noped out of there pretty quickly. I’m sure they are harmless, but I’m not keen on being in the woods out of sight with random people like that…

I left there and stopped at Target for a snack because I didn’t pack anything and I was starting to get hungry. I still had a good 45 minutes left before I had to pick up the kids, so I went back to the park where we played disc golf on Wednesday. On the other side of it, there is a big trail with some geocaches. So I grabbed two there then headed back home. So I got 5 in total today, which isn’t bad. I also got to 10k steps, so there’s that too.

It was fun, even by myself. I also found a trackable, which is like a coin. You enter the code that’s on the trackable on geocaching.com and you log it. Then you are supposed to place it in another cache and you can track where it goes. Pretty neat!

Along with that, I got some good loot too. I traded for a cool keychain, bracelet for Juliet, and a little troll looking toy. So that was fun too.

There’s another leg of that trail that has a ton of caches on it too, so I’m thinking next week I’ll take the kids and we’ll go. :)


This entry only accepts private comments.

No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.