WORK, WORK, WORK in Postcards 4

  • Oct. 15, 2017, 11:24 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Two days a week, a measly six hours a week, I dress in something I hope I cannot ruin and go to work. I volunteer at the ACS Discovery Shop. I’m sure you know this as I have told you hundreds of times.

I love Wednesdays. That’s the day I’m the book lady. Joe prices the books. He’s my third pricer. Joan took longer, and her decisions weren’t so arbitrary. So he sorts the books and even puts some out in the wrong places which are a constant source of hair pulling on my part. Biographies are not fiction. And too, I need to go through his discard boxes. Many aren’t.

I’ve learned to relax. It was hard.

Fridays I sort. One thing that makes it tolerable is that I work with two other OCD volunteers both days, Bob, and Linda. Sorting the donations used to be a fraction more fun. Now so many things come in that I let the mess swamp me. I need to relax on Fridays too. Just because a homeless lady picked up damp clothes on the beach and brought them to us doesn’t mean we have to take them. Dirty smelly clothes are NO too. Dirty stuffed animals are a NO also no matter how cute they are.

I’ve been known to take something to the cleaners. I’ve been caught popping an old quilt into my washing machine. It won’t sell if it is dirty.

Every day, I post to Facebook for the store. Corporate wants us to post many “Making Strides for Breast Cancer” flyers, posters, front window pictures et al right now. I’ve snuck a few other pictures in too. I’ll be there next week, but the week after I will be hugging my other daughter. Facebook does enable timed release posts.

That’s me, I WORK at being timed release.

……………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………….

  • Himself: Please stop by and see his pictures. Today:Lightbulbs and Legos for Poolie. Playing games for himself.

  • Herself: Writing here….and there…and these days it seems everywhere. Frightened of the blood test results tomorrow. I confess to eating Carbs this month.

  • Reading: Moving on to the next book.

  • Captain Poolie: Off the steroids and not eating again.

  • Gratitude’s: That it’s cool and sunny right now.


gattaca October 15, 2017

I need to begin looking for volunteer opportunities as I get closer to retirement. My first choice would he PACC (Pima County Animal Care Center),
http://webcms.pima.gov/government/pima_animal_care_center/
...where I adopted Cara from.

Zipster October 15, 2017

You are a good soul; I need to follow your example.

Hillbilly Princess October 15, 2017

NorthernSeeker October 15, 2017

Are there Discovery shops in other cities or is your unique?

MageB NorthernSeeker ⋅ October 16, 2017

No, there are over 40 stores. You might Google Discovery Shops. :)

Deleted user October 17, 2017

I always thought I would like to work in a book store :-)

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.