Getting too old in Stuff

  • Oct. 11, 2017, 4:23 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

So what started as a comment just to keep Harry from being a third wheel in Olsen’s weekend has now turned into a full and overly planned weekend. Not a bad thing. I let Harry make the plans and Harry loves to make plans.

Here’s what it’s going to be. This weekend, not next weekend. Just her and me, away for the weekend while Olsen is off with her boyfriend which means Mercer gets the place to himself. From his perspective, I think having the whole weekend at home to himself is better than getting invited to join us anyway.

We’re going to Maine together. We’re stopping in Kittery for shopping and then camping in Freeport, where there will be more shopping. Probably needless to point out, Harry loves shopping.

She’s got stops picked out and places to eat planned, as well as a complete camping menu. I have a feeling I’ll be spending the whole weekend just asking her what’s next on our itinerary. But I don’t want to complain. As she gets older, I am cherishing this mother-daughter time. There might not be too many opportunities left for us to be together alone like this.

On the other hand, this is camping in a tent in Maine in October. I might be getting too old for this.


Bird of Paradise November 17, 2017

That is cool. When my daughter was 15 there was no way we could have gone away on a little trip the two of us. What a extremely difficult age period that was! But then not only was I dealing with a moody selfish teen, but one who was grieving the loss of her little brother too. It was a rough season! Since then (20 years ago) we have had many special times together.

Triple H Bird of Paradise ⋅ November 20, 2017

Sounds like Olsen when she was that age. Actually she's still a lot like that at 19, but she's slightly more tolerable in a one-on-one situation than she used to be.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.