Disappointment in Stuff

  • Oct. 10, 2017, 5:44 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Olsen’s current boyfriend is a sweet guy named Darren. (I think there is something inherently derogatory about the term “current boyfriend.” It’s like I’m saying he’s neither the first nor the last, just the guy she’s currently with until the next one comes along. And even though I like Darren, and I’ve liked at least a few of the previous ones, I do honestly believe that he’s part of our lives only temporarily. Olsen is far far away from settling down with someone.)

The two of them have been talking about taking a tent and going on a little autumn camping trip up in Vermont this weekend. That’s a cute thing for a young couple, and I’m happy I seem to have instilled a love of the outdoors into my children. I also know, knowing Olsen as I do, that they will likely spend much of their trip inside the tent without clothes on. Fine with me, I was 19 once and I know I would have done that same.

Then Harry asked if she could tag along. The correct answer from the start should have been no. And I would have said no without hesitation if Harry had asked me instead of asking Olsen. But the question goes to Olsen and she agrees no problem. I didn’t want to be the bad guy (because I’m ALWAYS the bad guy) so I tried to judiciously drop a hint to Olsen with the line, “Do you really want your little sister hanging around when you’re trying to get some quality alone time with Darren?”

My voice was dripping with urgency that she understand the hidden message in my question.

I could see the light turn on in her brain. She turned to Harry and said, “But you’re going to have to bring your own tent and stay in there alone so Darren and I can have privacy.”

Ugh. Not exactly. I mean, better. But still.

I said, “Harry, why don’t you just let them go on their own trip and you and I will go camping together some other time?” Pouty face. Then she looks at Olsen to back her up, as if Olsen were the authority figure here, not me.

Olsen said, “Or you and I could go on a little sisters trip together the following weekend?”

Better. But Harry still seemed thoroughly disappointed to have her invitation taken back. It was the right thing to do. She’ll probably realize it in a couple years when she’s older and looks back at this.


Last updated October 11, 2017


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.