Gender neutral menstruation products in Stuff

  • Oct. 9, 2017, 4:39 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Sometimes a thought hits me and I then I find myself googling it and looking at other people’s ideas and points of view and suddenly I’ve wasted a whole lot of time obsessing about something that really isn’t all that important. That’s what happened yesterday when I used a restroom in a coffee shop and saw a sign above the toilet. It was a gender neutral single stall restroom, and the sign said, “Ladies, please do not flush your feminine hygiene products down the toilet.”

I probably wouldn’t have thought anything of seeing that sign in the women’s restroom, but since this was unisex the thought crossed my mind: I wonder if this would be considered transphobic since it’s presuming only people who identify as female (or “ladies”) would have periods.

So I google it. I forget my exact google question. I think I typed “gender neutral menstruation products.” And I get results along the same lines of what I was thinking. Not everyone that has a menstrual cycle identifies as female, so people are becoming more and more concerned with the idea of not presuming that “feminine” products are only for women.

I know there are probably people that feel strongly for both sides of this argument and I’m not really sure how I feel. I suppose it doesn’t hurt or affect me at all to be more inclusive in how I think about gender specific terminology.

I asked Olsen what she thought. I tried not to ask a leading question, I just said asked her “out of curiosity” what term she used as a default for “feminine products.” She sighed and said, “I just call them tampons, calling them ‘feminine products’ would make me feel like an old lady.”

I wonder if not being gender specific is just more normal for younger people, and that’s why she feels that way.


Last updated October 09, 2017


You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.